Meat Filled Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
The changes that I made were to season the ground beef. You can also substitute ground beef with chopped button mushrooms if you do not use red meat making sure to season the mushrooms with Italian seasoning sauteed in a little olive oil. If you spray the foil lightly with your favorite oil, you do not have to worry about the cheese sticking. I use ricotta cheese in place of cottage cheese, because this is usually what I have on hand. I also use jumbo shells for easy stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
AMAZING! my daughter doesn't like any kind of pasta but I used a recipe I found on All Recipes to make my own noodles and they were absolutely Amazing....Manicotti Shells is the title of the recipe I used.... 5 STAR for me and my FAMILY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickleuk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I felt like the filling tasted a bit plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made this recipe for my family and they absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was excellent! Followed the recipe exactly, and I and my husband love how it tasted. Like others have posted, I used ziplock bag with the corner cut off for stuffing the manicotti. I will definitely be making this again - thanks for a simple yet delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Good basic recipe but I needed to make some changes to make it more authentic. Specifically: Added one small chopped onion and 2 cloves minced garlic and sautéed with the meat; used whole milk ricotta instead of cottage cheese and subbed one whole egg for the whites; and added dried basil also to the meat mixture as well as a pinch of nutmeg when mixing into the cheeses. Baked as directed. They were delicious served with a green salad and garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Simple and easy. I went with a few revisions after reading reviews.. first I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese.. then I did as some others suggested and did NOT boil the noodles first, and also just used 1 whole egg instead of the egg whites. I just used a plain "traditional" jar of spaghetti sauce. I will try this again and use a different sauce, or add more herbs to a plain sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I love this recipe, but stuff jumbo shells instead (way easier). My boyfriend and I prefer it with Alfredo sauce instead of tomato, never any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I haven't ever made manicotti before, but I made this one and another plain cheese recipe last night. Both were AMAZING and super simple to follow! The only thing I did different was sub ricotta for the cottage - not a fan of cottage cheese, and it is wonderful! Is a huge hit at my house and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Used hot sausage and ground beef. Added onion and garlic, and used ricotta...hard to please my meat and taters guy, but, he was pleased! He even helped me stuff the shells....lol Thanks for posting! goes in my rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States