Meal in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We used to make these when I was a kid. Now I make them for my kids. It is a fun recipe! We called them Hobo Dinners. We season the burger, put onion slice on the burger add veggies and season veggies...just to make sure everything gets some seasoning...great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Yum! Great burger alternative for those with a wheat allergy. I mixed ground turkey with bread crumbs, one egg, and spices. I also placed a slice of bacon under each patty before cooking. This worked great with parchment paper instead of foil. Baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Served with pepper jack cheese and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Excellent for camping! Simple, easy, tastes good, and best of all - minimal dishes created. I always make this with chicken and throw in a few extra spices or a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateriseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This general recipe is good, I just have a few comments for people trying this one for the first time. I think that if you have hot coals 30 min. is a bit long. Also, you should experiment with a variety of vegetables. If your meat or veggies come out a too dry, try using meat with higher fat percentage or add a few drops of water before cooking next time. Lastly, for those who think this recipe is a bit bland, I've always put a bouillon cube in for some flavor. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Great for camping. I packed some kind of garlic & herbed seasoning and threw it on. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
We just did this for our cub scout packing during a camping trip. They used similar ingredients minus the butter, but also had tater tots. This was really good too. It was really popular with the everyone including the kids who originally balked at the idea of meat and veggies in a pouch. Also, it was only needed on the campfire for 20 minutes and everything was wrapped in a cabbage leaf first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna
Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I fixed the meals at home then placed them in a well packed cooler, then cooked them on my portable grill. Its a nice way to end a day full or four wheeling fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
WONDERFUL.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This is also a family favorite left over from scouting days. Try this - omit the butter and add some chopped celery. Bake in the oven @ 375 for one hour. I've also used chicken breast with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Awono Family
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This recipe is awesome, I remember that my mom, a former Girl Scout Troup leader in Hanover Township, PA, used to get us to make this even at home! We loved it. Now my kids do too. My husband decided to use sweet potatoes instead of white ones - yum! Also, I added some ground up sausage to the meat mixture - this is great! I think the butter makes the sauce totally delicious! Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awono Family

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States