Meal in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
A good base, but could have used some more flavor. When we go camping, we do something similar but over the campfire. Try adding fresh green beans, canned corn, mushrooms, garlic powder, and seasoned salt instead of regular. The addition of the extra veggies make the meat go further as well as add nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This is also a family favorite left over from scouting days. Try this - omit the butter and add some chopped celery. Bake in the oven @ 375 for one hour. I've also used chicken breast with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This general recipe is good, I just have a few comments for people trying this one for the first time. I think that if you have hot coals 30 min. is a bit long. Also, you should experiment with a variety of vegetables. If your meat or veggies come out a too dry, try using meat with higher fat percentage or add a few drops of water before cooking next time. Lastly, for those who think this recipe is a bit bland, I've always put a bouillon cube in for some flavor. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I fixed the meals at home then placed them in a well packed cooler, then cooked them on my portable grill. Its a nice way to end a day full or four wheeling fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
not very good. thought it didn't have enought flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I liked this recipe as a kid. I thought it was neat how a meal was cooked all-in-one and quick. You have to try this on your next trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
THIS TASTE GREAT AND IS VERY EASY AND QUICK TO PREPARE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Awono Family
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This recipe is awesome, I remember that my mom, a former Girl Scout Troup leader in Hanover Township, PA, used to get us to make this even at home! We loved it. Now my kids do too. My husband decided to use sweet potatoes instead of white ones - yum! Also, I added some ground up sausage to the meat mixture - this is great! I think the butter makes the sauce totally delicious! Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awono Family

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is an easily adaptable recipe. Great made in the oven or over camp fire coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
WONDERFUL.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States