Meal in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is a FANTASTIC camping staple, and I LOVE having it at home. So quick and easy. A great way to season everything in the foil pack without much effort is to sprinkle Jane's Crazy Mixed-up Salt on top of it. It's the best season-all I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
When I do these at home, I do the chunk potatoes, carrots, lots of onion, and bell pepper strips over the hamburger, which I have added crushed garlic too. Bake or grill for 45-60 minutes. I drain the grease off and add Velvetta cheese on top and reseal the packets. This makes it a cheesy packet. We always called them "hobo pockets".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Council Grove, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This general recipe is good, I just have a few comments for people trying this one for the first time. I think that if you have hot coals 30 min. is a bit long. Also, you should experiment with a variety of vegetables. If your meat or veggies come out a too dry, try using meat with higher fat percentage or add a few drops of water before cooking next time. Lastly, for those who think this recipe is a bit bland, I've always put a bouillon cube in for some flavor. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We used to make these when I was a kid. Now I make them for my kids. It is a fun recipe! We called them Hobo Dinners. We season the burger, put onion slice on the burger add veggies and season veggies...just to make sure everything gets some seasoning...great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was easy to customize for our family members. Each person had a foil packet and put in the veggies that they liked. The ground beef juices certainly flavor the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Word to the wise, don't throw the foil packet in the actual fire. I did this while camping, the meal looked and smelled wonderful going in, but after 30 minutes it was burnt to a crisp. Be sure to put the foil packet in hot coals, not an actual rip-roaring fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Great for camping. I packed some kind of garlic & herbed seasoning and threw it on. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
A good base, but could have used some more flavor. When we go camping, we do something similar but over the campfire. Try adding fresh green beans, canned corn, mushrooms, garlic powder, and seasoned salt instead of regular. The addition of the extra veggies make the meat go further as well as add nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
good recipe just as it is, but i always add a few dashes of worestichire for flavor before sealing up the packets - try it next time, both the meat and veggies benefit from just a small splash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Excellent for camping! Simple, easy, tastes good, and best of all - minimal dishes created. I always make this with chicken and throw in a few extra spices or a sauce of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateriseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States