Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I used large pearl tapioca but didnt have the patience to soak it overnight. I did soak the tapioca for 3-4 hours using just hot tap water. The pearls cooked just fine and wasnt chewy. I doubled the batch and took advice from a previous comment about backing down on the salt. I am a salt fan and always keep a shaker nearby but the 1 tsp (1/2 dbled) just sounded like a lot so I tried 3/4 tsp and am glad I did as it was perfect, a hint of salt and not overpowering. It took a little longer to thicken then stated, but be patient, good things come to those who wait! YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Laotto, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe ;came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very delicious! A keeper. Lessened the sugar as suggested to 1/2 cup but overall yum-MOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
How fast and easy! Using the slow cooker made for much less fuss, and the results were so good that my family requested that I make another batch the next day. My slow cooker worked beautifully on the high setting as long as I remembered to stir this occasionally. I did once substitute 1/2 cup of cream for 1/2 cup of the milk for a wonderfully rich and flavorful pudding, but it was also delicious using only the milk. My family thought this lovely with fresh strawberries, chilled, but I enjoyed it while it was still warm. If you've never had homemade tapioca, forget you've ever tried that store-bought packaged stuff. This is the way to go! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this exactly as written except for reducing the sugar to 1/2 cup. At first I was worried about the consistency because it looked thinner than I am used to when it was done. However, it thickened up nicely when it cooled. Something about the flavor is a little off for me though and it also tastes a little salty. I may try making it again but use only 1/4 tsp. salt and maybe use two whole eggs instead of two egg yolks. As much as I like vanilla I think that I would only use 1 tsp vanilla next time too, so I can really get the tapioca taste I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Lowered the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was delicious. I've wanted a recipe that didn't take constant attention and this fills the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe,followed the recipe exact, and it turned out wonderful. Kids and adults love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Soooo easy! I used 2 whole eggs instead of the 3 egg yolks. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
If you cut the recipe in half, make you sure only leave it on high for half the time! I almost burnt mine. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully. The best Tapioca recipe by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
We really like tapioca here so I doubled the recipe. Also, I only had large pearl tapioca on hand. I soaked it overnight and it worked out fine. I did cook 3 hours on high before adding the egg yolk since it was such a large batch. I also like to use the egg whites, beating them to a stiff peak with a little sugar. I folded these in 30-45 minutes after adding the yolks. (This was about how much time it took for the pudding to start to thicken.) You may have to wait longer for your tapioca by cooking it in the slow cooker but I love not having to stand over the stove! This is the way I'll be cooking it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States