Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe has great potential WITHOUT any changes. I had trouble because my slow cooker runs very hot. I tried cooking it on low and then warm and finally succumbed to high. It finally started thickening and I then over cooked it. I will continue to make it stovetop because I can't babysit my slowcooker. If you have one of the older crockpots, I think this would work much better. It still is very tasty. BTW I am going to keep my eye out for an older and slower crockpot. I did serve this over a puddle of grand marnier and the orange liquer was a very nice addition. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe Meadowwood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this as stated. I am not a tapioca fan but figured our littlest would love it. I was right he devoured it. I tried some and actually liked it also. It was very smooth and creamy. The tapioca was done perfectly and the texture was fabulous, one of the reasons I didn't like it in the past. I also have a newer slow cooker but did not have any issues with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very good recipe. I have a 1 1/2 qt slow cooker and it was the perfect size. It's not overly sweet and I liked that. Easy to make, smooth and delicious. I didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
this is the best Tapioca pudding i've ever had, i am not a big fan of any puddings, but my husband loves it so i made this one and omg im now a huge pudding fan. this recipe is amazing i didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very good flavor. A full recipe fits perfectly in a 1.5-Quart slow-cooker. I used a heaping 1/2 cup of sugar (granulated sugar subsitute worked well, too). Cooking on High for 1.5 hours worked best, stirring occasionally (2 hours made the pearls pretty mushy). Using 2 egg yolks worked for me, and that's the QTY of yolks in the original video for this recipe. The original also called for 2 Tablespoons of vanilla. I love vanilla, so I use that amount. It will seem SOUPY even after you add the yolks and let it cook for 20-30 minutes - don't worry, because it will set up nicely after it cools and chills. Best tapioca recipe I've ever found..........creamy, yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was DEE-licious. I used the 1 1/2 qt. slow cooker that only heats to hight, and cooked it for 2 hours. I used 1/2 cup sugar (perfect sweetness), 2 TBSP vanilla like it says in the video, and 2 egg yolks. You don't really need to cook it long after adding the egg yolks, since you're not bringing the temp down much so it cooks in just a minute. We were ooh-ing and ahh-ing so much over the flavor that my son even turned down ice cream for it, and he didn't like tapioca before this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
We really like tapioca here so I doubled the recipe. Also, I only had large pearl tapioca on hand. I soaked it overnight and it worked out fine. I did cook 3 hours on high before adding the egg yolk since it was such a large batch. I also like to use the egg whites, beating them to a stiff peak with a little sugar. I folded these in 30-45 minutes after adding the yolks. (This was about how much time it took for the pudding to start to thicken.) You may have to wait longer for your tapioca by cooking it in the slow cooker but I love not having to stand over the stove! This is the way I'll be cooking it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
If you cut the recipe in half, make you sure only leave it on high for half the time! I almost burnt mine. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully. The best Tapioca recipe by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Soooo easy! I used 2 whole eggs instead of the 3 egg yolks. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe,followed the recipe exact, and it turned out wonderful. Kids and adults love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States