Mayonnaise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was very easy to make. My friend who cannot eat a lot of sugar and fat, LOVED them. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
These cookies were actually pretty good! I decided to make cookies on the spur of the moment but was out of both butter and shortening. Found this recipe, thought "mayo???" but gave it a try. I sprinkled them with sugar both before and after baking, and they would probably be good sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar like a snickerdoodle. They definitely tasted better after they had cooled rather than first out of the oven. I didn't tell the family that they were made with mayo and renamed them "empty fridge" cookies in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ksenia Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Good taste, but they took longer to bake and also spread tremendously, effectively turning into a cookie sheet I had to cut in squares with a spatula. Put those cookies far apart from one another! It's possible that that happened because I had to substitute baking powder as I didn't have any baking soda (for 1 tsp of b.soda you need 2-3 tsp of b.powder), so for someone above who had a problem with not spreading, this may be the solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ksenia Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
It is good recipe. The 1st tray I made just as recipe says, I could still taste the mayo a little, and like some others the dough got very sticky. 2nd tray, I rolled each into a cinnamon-sugar mixture. They turned out great! Soft n chewy. I think next time I'm going to add a flavor, lemon, cocoa, almond extract, etc. we'll see what happens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aime McCravy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I didn't have a full cup of mayonnaise so I added a splash of milk, a couple tablespoons of peanut butter and one tbsp lard for moisture. What an awesome cookie! I'll try it the regular way next time, but this 'catch' worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Had I not just tried one, you couldn't have convinced me that a recipe that goes together so fast, with ingredients almost everyone keeps in their pantry and fridge at any given time, could come out so superbly. The mayo didn't skeeve me out, because I have a couple of great cake recipes using mayo. But the ease of making these belies the wonderful result. I grated the zest of one lemon and substituted lemon extract for the vanilla, and the result was a short, gently crispy, sable-textured lemon sugar cookie, good enough to put on your Christmas cookie trays. But they're equally at home as an after-school snack for the kids. I'm certain that the vanilla would be lovely, as well. The dough was quite manageable for me. Crumbly looking, but it balled up easily. Don't forget to flatten, as what you see for height going into the oven is more or less what you get coming out. I got just under 3 dozen, 32 to be precise. To avoid making a difficult, hard-to-work-with dough, be certain to spoon your flour into the measuring cup, (meaning don't scoop the flour into the cup) then sweep to level the top. If you're finding that your dough is unworkably stiff, you've added too much flour, which will happen if you scoop. As written, the measurements are correct. This recipe is a fabulous find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made these cookies but I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe.I then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the top of these cookies and the kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siobyan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Loved it!! I used whole wheat flour, cut the sugar in half, and used reduced fast mayonnaise to make these healthier. They turned out great and tasted just like sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I was so afraid to make these, but they actually came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States