Mayonnaise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Had I not just tried one, you couldn't have convinced me that a recipe that goes together so fast, with ingredients almost everyone keeps in their pantry and fridge at any given time, could come out so superbly. The mayo didn't skeeve me out, because I have a couple of great cake recipes using mayo. But the ease of making these belies the wonderful result. I grated the zest of one lemon and substituted lemon extract for the vanilla, and the result was a short, gently crispy, sable-textured lemon sugar cookie, good enough to put on your Christmas cookie trays. But they're equally at home as an after-school snack for the kids. I'm certain that the vanilla would be lovely, as well. The dough was quite manageable for me. Crumbly looking, but it balled up easily. Don't forget to flatten, as what you see for height going into the oven is more or less what you get coming out. I got just under 3 dozen, 32 to be precise. To avoid making a difficult, hard-to-work-with dough, be certain to spoon your flour into the measuring cup, (meaning don't scoop the flour into the cup) then sweep to level the top. If you're finding that your dough is unworkably stiff, you've added too much flour, which will happen if you scoop. As written, the measurements are correct. This recipe is a fabulous find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made these cookies but I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe.I then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the top of these cookies and the kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siobyan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Loved it!! I used whole wheat flour, cut the sugar in half, and used reduced fast mayonnaise to make these healthier. They turned out great and tasted just like sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I was so afraid to make these, but they actually came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Not my favorite :( they turned out better with 2 cups of mayo , I guess I'm more a chocolate cookie person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These were the easiest cookies! I made them with my granddaughter and we loved them. We added some cinnamon to the dough and rolled them in cinnamon and sugar. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
for having basically no ingredients these cookies are great. i think they are better warm even tho some ppl said they could taste the mayo i couldnt. i tried three kinds out of one batch. one i followed the instructions n they turned out great two i rolled in cinnamon suger these were great third i added coco these turned out just ok. hope this helps happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonnystitt
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
easier to work with this sticky dough by dropping about a table spoon into a bowl of sanding sugar and rolling it. Once coated with sugar, shape into a ball prior to placing on cookie sheet. Should have used allspice as suggested. Gave 'em to trick or treaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnystitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
My son asked for cookies for an after school snack and I was out of butter so I tried this as I was pulling ingredients out of cupboard my cinnamon fell into the bowl it looked like 2tspn fills and they came out perfect! I used a tablespoon scoop per cookie and it was perfect sizes I did leave them in oven for 10 min because my ovens funky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Love the recipe but I left them in 10 min and then burned maybe because I used a tbsp but 9 min and perfect. Bf loved them until I said mayo cookies. Lol. He ate 6 more after that! Easy& delicious! Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States