Mayonnaise Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This cake was amazingly moist for one with no eggs or dairy. It also works well as a vanilla cake...just omit the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I added 1/4 cup mayo and baked this in a bundt pan- It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This cake was delicious! It was very moist and easy to make. I lost my old recipe and was happy to find this one. I only made a few changes: I used 1 cup of water and 1 tsp of vanilla. For “frosting” my mother always cut a piece of cake and then put a dollop of cool whip with some sliced bananas on top (didn’t do it on the whole cake so it didn’t get soggy) and it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was my first ever attempt at a scratch cake, without a box. I had promised my son cupcakes, only to find that I had no box, no eggs and no money. This is THE BEST cake I've ever eaten. EVER. Duncan Hines is FIRED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This cake is fantastic!! I will make this cake again, but I think I might add some instant coffe to the recipe to make it a mocha cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
This is truly the best cholocate cake I have ever eaten. My mother gave me this recipe years ago. I lost the recipe and was very happy to see it here. My 12 year old daughter loves to make it. We cook it in a bunt pan. It is very moist and easy to make. You can add nuts, choc. chips or anything else you might like to add to it. It is wonderful with frosting but we eat it without and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
the best chocolate cake you will ever eat. It is great to make this cake and tell your friends after, what they have just eaten you will see some suprised faces. You realy should get past the name and try this one. You will never eat plain chocolate cake ever again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
the taste was good but it was a little on the dry side.i will try it again and maybe add a touch more mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was a decent cake. I had to improvise a little bit because I didn't have enough mayonnaise. I therefore added an egg to the batter resulting in a fairly satisfying result. I just wish I could find a recipe that is as light and fluffy as the Betty Crocker cake mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is one of my most requested cakes! I just love it!I have variations of it. However, I usually make it with Duncans Hines Dark Chocolate Cake Mix without making this cake from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States