Mayonnaise Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is a good basic recipe, but I made some of the changes recommended by other reviewers and it turned out great. I added a total of 8 tablespoons of cocoa and an additional 1/4 cup of sugar. This made the cake great- not too much or too little. I also reduced the mayo by 1/4 cup as recommended, but I have a feeling this is why the cake turned out a little crumbly. Finally, I baked it in a train shaped cake that probably equaled an 9x13 sheet, and it was a little thinner than I planned but still good. It would be better in a bunt or loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I made them into cupcakes. They tasted better after they had cooled for a day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is pretty much identical to the mayo cake recipe I lost. It is THE best chocolate cake, in my opinion. Don't fool yourselves into saying it "uses mayo instead of eggs and oil". Mayo IS eggs and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is one of my most requested cakes! I just love it!I have variations of it. However, I usually make it with Duncans Hines Dark Chocolate Cake Mix without making this cake from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
YUMM! My alltime favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
these cakes are great,moist and delicious,i and my mother used to make them when i was a kid,very simple and easy to make,its fun to make with your kids if they like to bake and help out,very good,especially with homemade icing,confectioners sugar or buttercreme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I guess mayonnaise sucks up the chocolate and sugar in this concoction, because I could taste neither. It did have a nice dark moist appearance, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. I was looking for one because I remember my mom making a mayo cake when I was a little girl. My husband said it was excellent. He hates mayonnaise so it made for a good joke too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This cake is fantastic!! I will make this cake again, but I think I might add some instant coffe to the recipe to make it a mocha cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
It has a nice texture, but the taste doesn't taste like regular chocolate cake. There is something peculiar about the taste of this cake.... Still ok, though. The person I gave it to really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States