Mayonnaise Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This isn't a 5 star cake in my book, but I really like it. Hadn't eaten or made a mayo cake in years. I used it as a chocolate strawberry shortcake with whipped cream on top. Next time, I'll add another Tablespoon of cocoa to the batter. There will be a next time because this cake is so easy. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9" round. I think this would be good with caramel or peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I've just made these and they came out great. I made half the recipe and used 3 T. cocoa instead of 4. It was a little salty because of the mayonnaise so next time I'm going to use 1/8 t. salt instead of 1/4 t. I made cupcakes and used cupcake liners. It will make 10 cupcakes, not 12. I baked mine for 15 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was my first ever attempt at a scratch cake, without a box. I had promised my son cupcakes, only to find that I had no box, no eggs and no money. This is THE BEST cake I've ever eaten. EVER. Duncan Hines is FIRED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was a great, moist chocolate cake. I was worried at first because the batter smelled funny. The finished product was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
When the kids saw my putting mayonnaise in the bowl they all though I was crazy and refused to try it but I convinced them to give it a chance, and they loved them, especially with Wedding Cake Frosting From this site. There are very few left as I made 2 dozen cupcakes and they barely got one done before they wanted another one, this is similar to the recipe my mom used when I was a kid the only difference I think is growing up all we had in the house was Miracle Whip and even though I still use Miracle Whip my husband likes Hellmans, so I used that. My daughter likes alot of chocolate so she said that the recipe could have used more Cocoa but my husband is not a huge fan of Chocolate and said they were perfect, choclatey but not to choclatey and overly sweet like the store bought cake mixes. I will definately use this one again it is a big hit at my house. Thank you for the wonderful Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
It turned out bitter. We could not eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was ok. It tasted like boxed cake mix, which I don't care for. I could've just bought cake mix and saved some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly. I usually don't have any problems with baking, but this turned out heavy and left a greasy aftertaste. I just dusted it with powdered sugar like I usually do with chocolate cake when I am in a hurry and the kids want some, but I really don't think any kind of frosting would have saved the taste. It did however, turn out moist. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
ill definitely be making this one again again. the texture and flavor was exactly what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Yum, yum yum! i only added 1 ex. TB. cho pow...we LOVE chocolate; it made it a lil dry, but thats MY fault! EXCELLENTE!!! The white cho and reg cho shavings on the bunt cake is my pic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States