Mayonnaise Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Yum! These biscuits come out very light and fluffy with a rich (but not too rich) taste and mouthfeel. If you don't have self-rising flour (like me), use 2 cups less 4 tsp. sifted flour, 3 tsp. baking powder, and 1 tsp. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very Delicious! This is more the texture of a light roll, than a biscuit. I did not have self rising flour, so I put 2 cups all purpose flour in a bowl, then took out 4 tsp. and then added 3 tsp. baking powder and 1 tsp salt. You must use real mayo, not Miracle Whip. Don't even rate the recipe if you use miracle whip, because the roll will not have much flavor. The batter will be sticky, so just use a dash of flour to help if need be. I used about 2 tbsp. of the mixture and just dropped it on the baking sheet. They cooked in exactly 12 minutes. So good!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
So simple, SOOOO GOOOOOD! Made 4 batches in 3 days. Great as is. Added 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh chives and 1 teaspoon dried parsley to one batch. In another batch, I put a base amount on the baking sheet then added a spoonful of raspberry jam and covered it with another layer of biscuit dough and sealed the edges = Fresh Hot Scones. This recipe is too good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I've been making Mayonnaise Biscuits my whole life and absolutely love them. The only thing I do differently is I drop the dough in muffin tins instead of on a baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Just what I was looking for. Quick & easy to make. Great with jam and butter. ------------------- Helpful hint: mix mayonnaise and flour(& baking powder and salt, if needed) together first. I always use my hands and knead together until coarse/crumbly. Then add milk (little by little) and with a large spoon fold liquid into mixture. Leave lumpy - I know, I know, but it works best this way!!! Will turn out better than the corner bakery :) All done with mixing and baking in under 20 minutes (15, depending on oven, etc.) -------------- Funny story: first time I tried this, it was for a special added touch to our normal eggs and ham. I always make a mini "tester" batch to share with my husband before I try anything new for us & the kids. Well, these were so good and done so fast, by the time he got downstairs to share... well, they were all gone! Luckily I had already had a few more mini ones going so he really never knew (Shhh...) Haha! Well, needless to say we made them for the kids too & our breakfast was WONDERFUL! It's like biscuits made our usual that much more like a little cafe :) Recipe makes perfect amount but is easy to half/double too. Anywho, hopefully this lets you know just how great and fast they really are :) Super great recipe. Will use again often & will pass along to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These biscuits are great! I needed something besides the standard cornbread to serve with ribs and coleslaw and I came upon these. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out light and fluffy. Don't be afaid of the mayo, you can't taste it! These biscuits look like you spent a lot of time kneading and cutting dough - these take no time at all. I can't wait to experiment with them by adding some herbs and cheddar or parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
These are the best tasting, fluffiest biscuits I have ever made. Adding the mayonnaise sounded a little strange, but this recipe is a keeper! The family loved them. None left over either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Best biscutis I ever made! I used 3 Tbl light mayo and 3 Tbl canola oil, 1 cup of buttermilk. I think a biscuit has to have buttermilk in it ;) These were the most tender, moist biscuits ever! I cooked them in my lightly oiled cast iron skillet, 425 degrees for 13 min. then broiled the tops for a minute. This will be my "go to" biscuit recipe from now on ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
In my opinion, it should be better than 5 stars. This recipe was DELICIOUS ~ I couldn't stop eating them!!! I didn't have self-rising flour so instead I used: 2 cups of regular flour minus 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. Excellent recipe - Thanks a lot. I will definitely be making these again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wasn't too sure about these, but thought "What the hey". Made them and my dh and I ate them all with one dinner. These have re-placed my favorite drop biscuit recipe and will be all I make from now on. Can add cheese and garlic and what have you to change them a little. Thanks. Myrna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States