Mayonnaise Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
After reading some of the reviews that said the dough was too wet I used a little less milk than called for, also I didn't have self rising flour so I converted by adding 2-1/2 teasp of baking powder & 1/2 tsp salt to AP flour. Otherwise I made this recipe exactly as written. The dough was still too wet so I had to add flour to get it to drop biscuit consistency. It made a nice, light, fluffy biscuit with very little flavor. I'll try it again but next time I think I'll try using 3/4 C buttermilk or 1/2 sour cream & 1/2 milk in place of the plain milk & cut the liquid to 3/4 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Might as well have poured gravy over my shoes, they were that horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Nice, but rather like the ones on the Bisquick box. Will keep in the recipe file though. Using for biscuits and gravy in the morning so should be lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Our bellies are super full of these delicious biscuits. OMGOODNESS I doubled the recipe and thank God I did, everyone wanted more. I will have to make more to go with our Sunday dinner. Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was super easy and delicious! Perfect for anytime you want bread to go with your meal but don't have a lot of time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Thanks. It worked out great. So easy, so terrific. I had to add a tad more flour, but since we measure by volume rather than weight, small adjustments are probably normal. They were the best and easiest to bake biscuits I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I've made these since I was young, the recipe is exactly the same, and if you dont have self-rising flour, then just add 1 teaspoon of salt and 2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder...you dont need to take anything out. The mayo takes the place of the shortening and eggs and such, I think. It also adds flavor. It wouldnt taste right with 'salad dressing', only mayo, imo. It is supposed to turn out like a drop biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Just tried these and honestly they came out much more compact than I would have liked. They are very heavy. The mix is gluey, and I would suggest some serious stirring to make them airier than they are. I'll try the recipe again in a couple of days and see if that makes all the difference. They taste fine otherwise, just really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I followed the review by Evelyn in KC about not having self-rising flour and all turned out perfectly! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Oh My Goodness!!! I just made these, I used the olive oil mayo and WOW!!! They are so easy to make and even easier to eat!!! YUMMMY!!!!!! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States