Mayo-Free Tuna Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Loved this recipe, AWESOME I added celery, asiago cheese and a pinch of red pepper flakes instead of chile pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
THe red pepper hummus is an inspired idea. I liked Darlene's additions, too and will use them when I make this filling again. I'm always on the lookout for new ideas for the good ol' tasty tuna sandwich. Thanks Darlene and thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Loved it, thanks for the great idea! I used lemon dill starkist tuna and roasted pine nut hummus. I didn't need to add anything else, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was great! I love how healthy this is without tasting like it is. The only change I made was using dried herbs because I didn't have any fresh. I will definitely make this again. I served it in pitas with green bell pepper slices and it was one of my favorite lunches I have taken to work. Thanks for sharing- I would never have thought to use hummus with tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It's as good as regular tuna salad. Possibly better. Certainly better if I'd followed the submitter's recommendation in the description to serve it with melted Cheddar on top, which I did get the go-ahead from the husband to try it that way next time :) Thanks for the recipe--I LOATHE mayonnaise and had been wishing for a way to eat tuna, as it's such an easy & inexpensive way to get a serving of fish in! (Made with 2 tbsp. of "Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus" from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a GREAT alternative your typical mayo-ridden tuna. I used regular hummus since I didn't have any of the red pepper hummus. It was still fantastic! The spices give the tuna a great Mediterranean flavor. This is by far the best non-mayo tuna recipe I've ever tried! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I think I just died and gone to heaven. I almost want to cry tears of happiness because of this recipe. I'm allergic to mayonnaise and don't even like it to begin with, and I've been eating my sandwiches with mustard for years. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE mustard, but the hummus adds that "creamy" consistency a true tuna sandwich should possess. THANK YOU SO MUCH, "A Turtle in the Kitchen!" You have made more than my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Not my fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I doubled this recipe bc I was hungry. I made my own hummus from the Easy Hummus recipe on here, so I didn't have roasted red pepper hummus. Instead, I diced fresh red peppers and celery to put in. We don't eat raw onions, so I left those out and made a tuna melt out of this. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was absolutely great. Didn't have the pepper so I added some diced celery. Nice flavor and much more healthy than using mayo. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States