Mayo-Free Tuna Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! It was so refreshing and not at all heavy like regular tuna salad can be. Even my 18 month-old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
We were out of mayo, but wanted tuna salad for sandwiches - after trying this recipe, I will NEVER use mayo again in my tuna salad! The only changes I made (completely out of necessity because we were missing some ingredients) were using white onion instead of red, basil instead of rosemary and celery instead of peppers. I also had some capers on hand that I threw in. We served it on 12 grain bread, open-face with a slice of tomato and cheddar, melted in the toaster. Thanks so much for this healthy, filling and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliwhalen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was absolutely great. Didn't have the pepper so I added some diced celery. Nice flavor and much more healthy than using mayo. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love it. You can substitute the red pepper hummus with chipotle hummus. It gives it more bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Never thought to use hummus with tuna! I eat hummus with pita and tuna with mayo. This is WAY healthier and super great taste!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Loved it, thanks for the great idea! I used lemon dill starkist tuna and roasted pine nut hummus. I didn't need to add anything else, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Super yummy! I added some green bell pepper instead of the chile pepper because I didn't have any. I also used garlic hummus instead of red pepper because that's what I had just bought at Lakewinds. It gave it just the right amount of garlic flavor. Very good on a dense piece of whole rye bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It's as good as regular tuna salad. Possibly better. Certainly better if I'd followed the submitter's recommendation in the description to serve it with melted Cheddar on top, which I did get the go-ahead from the husband to try it that way next time :) Thanks for the recipe--I LOATHE mayonnaise and had been wishing for a way to eat tuna, as it's such an easy & inexpensive way to get a serving of fish in! (Made with 2 tbsp. of "Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus" from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good. I like the hummus substitute for mayo a lot. Great flavor, nice texture and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
delicious! I never thought of mixing hummus with tuna...I had just made some homemade hummus and had the fresh herbs on hand - so tasty and healthy! I did skip the chile pepper and added a little celery for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States