Mayo-Free Tuna Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Loved this recipe, AWESOME I added celery, asiago cheese and a pinch of red pepper flakes instead of chile pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
The wife really rated this, I thought it was OK it but not a WOW, so on AVE 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
THe red pepper hummus is an inspired idea. I liked Darlene's additions, too and will use them when I make this filling again. I'm always on the lookout for new ideas for the good ol' tasty tuna sandwich. Thanks Darlene and thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was great! I love how healthy this is without tasting like it is. The only change I made was using dried herbs because I didn't have any fresh. I will definitely make this again. I served it in pitas with green bell pepper slices and it was one of my favorite lunches I have taken to work. Thanks for sharing- I would never have thought to use hummus with tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a GREAT alternative your typical mayo-ridden tuna. I used regular hummus since I didn't have any of the red pepper hummus. It was still fantastic! The spices give the tuna a great Mediterranean flavor. This is by far the best non-mayo tuna recipe I've ever tried! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
delicious! I never thought of mixing hummus with tuna...I had just made some homemade hummus and had the fresh herbs on hand - so tasty and healthy! I did skip the chile pepper and added a little celery for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good. I like the hummus substitute for mayo a lot. Great flavor, nice texture and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It's as good as regular tuna salad. Possibly better. Certainly better if I'd followed the submitter's recommendation in the description to serve it with melted Cheddar on top, which I did get the go-ahead from the husband to try it that way next time :) Thanks for the recipe--I LOATHE mayonnaise and had been wishing for a way to eat tuna, as it's such an easy & inexpensive way to get a serving of fish in! (Made with 2 tbsp. of "Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus" from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Super yummy! I added some green bell pepper instead of the chile pepper because I didn't have any. I also used garlic hummus instead of red pepper because that's what I had just bought at Lakewinds. It gave it just the right amount of garlic flavor. Very good on a dense piece of whole rye bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Loved it, thanks for the great idea! I used lemon dill starkist tuna and roasted pine nut hummus. I didn't need to add anything else, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States