Mayo Free Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Excellent dish. I cut the oil in half and added cranberries and slivered almonds. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I added match-stick carrots, some chopped celery and celery seed as well as some dill weed. Didn't have green onions, so we used some chopped sweet onion. It really gave it a great flavor. We loved it. This is a definite re-do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Wanted a lighter coleslaw than a mayo based. Used rice vinegar and tamari. Family said it is a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Fast and easy and everyone asks for seconds. My changes: rice wine vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and I use part olive/part sesame oil to give it more flavor and Splenda or Truvia instead of sugar. Also, I saute the slivered almonds in butter to brown them and make them more crunchy. Can also add a package of ramen noodles (crushed) to pan and saute til brown for more crunch but we usually leave those out on our low carb diet. Either way, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is a great simple slaw. I used half the dressing for half a large head of cabbage, reduced the sugar a tad and used rice vinegar. Next time I'll add shredded carrots and purple cabbage for color. Would probably also be good with mandarin orange slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I added grated broccoli stems as well but you couldn't tell they were in there. This was very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Oh, my gosh, this slaw is just what I was looking for! So delicious and a. BIG hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Another delicious salad! I'm on a quest to use all that is in our fridge. This was a great recipe to use up the half-head of cabbage. I also used up the last of the carrots by shredding them and adding them to the mix. I prepared this in the morning, adding the almonds and the sunflower seeds and served it at dinner time. I did replace the 6 TB of sugar with 4 TB of Stevia and it worked well for our tastes. This could easily become a main dish meal by adding grilled chicken or shrimp. I served this with 'Sweet and Spicy Grilled Shrimp' and 'Stuffed Pea Pods', both from AR. Thanks, Shalvie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by volcanogrl20
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Great recipe! I made a few changes like chopping 1/2 head of cabbage and adding two farmer's market carrots, which I grated with a cheese grater. I also substituted the oil to vegetable and added a dash of both sesame and chile oil for flavor. I cut back on the amount of sugar because I'm not a fan of sweetness, but otherwise absolutely loved this recipe...saved it to my favorites so that I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I tried this and used Splenda instead of sugar and apple cider vinegar because I didn't have red wine vinegar. It was so easy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States