Mayo Free Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Fast and easy and everyone asks for seconds. My changes: rice wine vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and I use part olive/part sesame oil to give it more flavor and Splenda or Truvia instead of sugar. Also, I saute the slivered almonds in butter to brown them and make them more crunchy. Can also add a package of ramen noodles (crushed) to pan and saute til brown for more crunch but we usually leave those out on our low carb diet. Either way, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is a great simple slaw. I used half the dressing for half a large head of cabbage, reduced the sugar a tad and used rice vinegar. Next time I'll add shredded carrots and purple cabbage for color. Would probably also be good with mandarin orange slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I added grated broccoli stems as well but you couldn't tell they were in there. This was very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Oh, my gosh, this slaw is just what I was looking for! So delicious and a. BIG hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Another delicious salad! I'm on a quest to use all that is in our fridge. This was a great recipe to use up the half-head of cabbage. I also used up the last of the carrots by shredding them and adding them to the mix. I prepared this in the morning, adding the almonds and the sunflower seeds and served it at dinner time. I did replace the 6 TB of sugar with 4 TB of Stevia and it worked well for our tastes. This could easily become a main dish meal by adding grilled chicken or shrimp. I served this with 'Sweet and Spicy Grilled Shrimp' and 'Stuffed Pea Pods', both from AR. Thanks, Shalvie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by volcanogrl20
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Great recipe! I made a few changes like chopping 1/2 head of cabbage and adding two farmer's market carrots, which I grated with a cheese grater. I also substituted the oil to vegetable and added a dash of both sesame and chile oil for flavor. I cut back on the amount of sugar because I'm not a fan of sweetness, but otherwise absolutely loved this recipe...saved it to my favorites so that I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I tried this and used Splenda instead of sugar and apple cider vinegar because I didn't have red wine vinegar. It was so easy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Wow! I started eating this salad even before I finished making it! Very well balanced. I added a little less sugar, about 4 tablespoons, but I guess that is just a minor thing and a matter of taste. Definitely, will make it again. Thank you, Shalvie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Yum! I thought 6 tablespoons seemed like a lot of sugar, so I cut it back to 4-5 and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Great but needs a little "zip". Might try adding mirin next time. Used rice wine vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. Added shredded carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States