Mayan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Oh my! This is so good. Love the slight texture and feel of the hot chocolate and the flavor it to die for. I also tried this with ginger as suggested by another rater and yes, that is amazing too. Both ways is a winner to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Now I've got a name to my concoction. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronwyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've hot cocoa just like this at my Mom's winter home in Mexico--delicious with and without spirits--thank you, That Grace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raine

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I tried this for the first time and it was the best hot chocolate EVER! Thanks so much for letting me know such a delicious thing was possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Wow! This is delicious! I added just a few drops of Vanilla and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I thought the cinnamon was going to be overpowering but it was a really tasty, tongue-tingling drink. Good blend of flavors! Sure warms you up! Had to ding a star for instant hot chocolate mix because it has additives and other stuff in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I just made this for small tea cup sized portions. I didn't have cocoa mix on hand so I used cocoa and sugar as follows (again this is for small china tea cups 1 serving) 1 full tea cup milk, 1 teaspoon cocoa powder, 1 pinch cinnamon, 1 pinch red chili powder heated on lowest setting over gas stove for about 2-3 minutes or until almost at a boil! It really does taste like some of the hot cocoa I had in Mexico... I tried abuelita expecting similar things and was disappointed, this is perfect. It has a robust complex flavor and goes well with marshmallow cream if you want a little extra sweetness. Whipped cream if you have it will be more complimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good recipe! I made the servings for 2. I only double the milk and cocoa mix (didn't use instant). With 2 cups of milk; 6 tablespoons of cocoa... I used 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1 pinch of cayenne pepper. It came out great. It wasn't too much cinnamon and the right amount of pepper. Me and roommate enjoyed. I gave four stars for the amount of cinnamon recommended. It should be 1/2 tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was pretty good. I will make it again, but with changes. I will add more cinnamon and less cayenne pepper. Maybe my pinch is bigger than others, but it was just too much for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
this burned my throat with every sip i took. i tried one of the reviews where they put 1 1/2 c. milk and 2 Tbs. of cocoa and 2 Tbs. of sugar and i added a splash of vanilla. then i saw my peppermint essential oil and i thought what the heck! i put one drop in and it smelled of candy cane hot choc! i tried it delicious! i like this recipe :) thanks for sharing your homemade easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyssa, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States