Mayan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Yum! I go to Mexico often and this is authentic! I'd even suggest adding about 3 T boiling water to thin it out just a bit. A real keeper. I used Mexican cocoa instead of instant hot cocoa mix. Tastes like it could ward off a cold, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Don't let the cayenne scare you. This hot chocolate tastes just like red hot cinnamon candy. Or in my case, an Atomic Fire Ball because I use a BIG pinch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! Instead of instant cocoa I used 3 teaspoons regular cocoa and 3 teaspoons sugar, mixed in 1/2 dl of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
In the wintertime, I like to have a cup of hot chocolate before I go to bed at night. It's both warming and relaxing. I ran across this recipe and was apprehensive about the amount of cinnamon and the addition of cayenne. But I have seen so many cayenne/chocolate parings lately that I decided to try it. SO much better than plain hot chocolate! I WILL have this often -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I tried this for the first time and it was the best hot chocolate EVER! Thanks so much for letting me know such a delicious thing was possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is delicious! I still like to add marshmallows, though. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've been putting cayenne and cinnamon in my hot chocolate for years, but one other thing I add that makes it even more wonderful is about 1/8-1/4 tsp of ginger powder. Trust me...it's so delicious! Also, I don't use instant hot chocolate. I use about a cup and a half of milk, 2 tbls of cocoa powder and 2 tbls of sugar. I whisk it all together, along with the spices, over the stove. Just till blended and hot (don't boil it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BegYourPardun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My entire family loved this. I was unsure at first but my hubby now believes this is his favorite hot drink. All three of the kids enjoyed it as well. It's a keeper. I made it just as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a real treat! I used a tbsp of really good unsweetened cocoa powder and about 1 tsp superfine sugar in place of the prepared hot chocolate mix which made it even more delicious. I even used skim milk and it was rich, creamy and satisfying, perfect for warming up after playing in the snow! My daughter liked hers with just the cinnamon, and I probably went a little light on that in hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Wow! This is delicious! I added just a few drops of Vanilla and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States