Mayan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've been putting cayenne and cinnamon in my hot chocolate for years, but one other thing I add that makes it even more wonderful is about 1/8-1/4 tsp of ginger powder. Trust me...it's so delicious! Also, I don't use instant hot chocolate. I use about a cup and a half of milk, 2 tbls of cocoa powder and 2 tbls of sugar. I whisk it all together, along with the spices, over the stove. Just till blended and hot (don't boil it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BegYourPardun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! Instead of instant cocoa I used 3 teaspoons regular cocoa and 3 teaspoons sugar, mixed in 1/2 dl of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I added a shot of espresso. Too much cinnamon for me. More like a 1/4 teaspoon would be better. I had some freshly opened cayenne so a pinch was nice and spicy. The older your pepper, the more you need. Don't recommend heating the milk to boiling point. It ruins the milk. I like to use almond milk for extra richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a real treat! I used a tbsp of really good unsweetened cocoa powder and about 1 tsp superfine sugar in place of the prepared hot chocolate mix which made it even more delicious. I even used skim milk and it was rich, creamy and satisfying, perfect for warming up after playing in the snow! My daughter liked hers with just the cinnamon, and I probably went a little light on that in hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Yum! I go to Mexico often and this is authentic! I'd even suggest adding about 3 T boiling water to thin it out just a bit. A real keeper. I used Mexican cocoa instead of instant hot cocoa mix. Tastes like it could ward off a cold, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
it was good, but I think I might've put in a liiitttllleee too much cayenne pepper so it was a bit too spicy for my taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
In the wintertime, I like to have a cup of hot chocolate before I go to bed at night. It's both warming and relaxing. I ran across this recipe and was apprehensive about the amount of cinnamon and the addition of cayenne. But I have seen so many cayenne/chocolate parings lately that I decided to try it. SO much better than plain hot chocolate! I WILL have this often -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Don't let the cayenne scare you. This hot chocolate tastes just like red hot cinnamon candy. Or in my case, an Atomic Fire Ball because I use a BIG pinch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My entire family loved this. I was unsure at first but my hubby now believes this is his favorite hot drink. All three of the kids enjoyed it as well. It's a keeper. I made it just as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is delicious! I still like to add marshmallows, though. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States