Mayan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I just made this for small tea cup sized portions. I didn't have cocoa mix on hand so I used cocoa and sugar as follows (again this is for small china tea cups 1 serving) 1 full tea cup milk, 1 teaspoon cocoa powder, 1 pinch cinnamon, 1 pinch red chili powder heated on lowest setting over gas stove for about 2-3 minutes or until almost at a boil! It really does taste like some of the hot cocoa I had in Mexico... I tried abuelita expecting similar things and was disappointed, this is perfect. It has a robust complex flavor and goes well with marshmallow cream if you want a little extra sweetness. Whipped cream if you have it will be more complimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good recipe! I made the servings for 2. I only double the milk and cocoa mix (didn't use instant). With 2 cups of milk; 6 tablespoons of cocoa... I used 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1 pinch of cayenne pepper. It came out great. It wasn't too much cinnamon and the right amount of pepper. Me and roommate enjoyed. I gave four stars for the amount of cinnamon recommended. It should be 1/2 tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was pretty good. I will make it again, but with changes. I will add more cinnamon and less cayenne pepper. Maybe my pinch is bigger than others, but it was just too much for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
this burned my throat with every sip i took. i tried one of the reviews where they put 1 1/2 c. milk and 2 Tbs. of cocoa and 2 Tbs. of sugar and i added a splash of vanilla. then i saw my peppermint essential oil and i thought what the heck! i put one drop in and it smelled of candy cane hot choc! i tried it delicious! i like this recipe :) thanks for sharing your homemade easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyssa, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
pretty good tho I'm not sure I'm sold all the way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I added a shot of espresso. Too much cinnamon for me. More like a 1/4 teaspoon would be better. I had some freshly opened cayenne so a pinch was nice and spicy. The older your pepper, the more you need. Don't recommend heating the milk to boiling point. It ruins the milk. I like to use almond milk for extra richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
it was good, but I think I might've put in a liiitttllleee too much cayenne pepper so it was a bit too spicy for my taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a real treat! I used a tbsp of really good unsweetened cocoa powder and about 1 tsp superfine sugar in place of the prepared hot chocolate mix which made it even more delicious. I even used skim milk and it was rich, creamy and satisfying, perfect for warming up after playing in the snow! My daughter liked hers with just the cinnamon, and I probably went a little light on that in hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
In the wintertime, I like to have a cup of hot chocolate before I go to bed at night. It's both warming and relaxing. I ran across this recipe and was apprehensive about the amount of cinnamon and the addition of cayenne. But I have seen so many cayenne/chocolate parings lately that I decided to try it. SO much better than plain hot chocolate! I WILL have this often -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My entire family loved this. I was unsure at first but my hubby now believes this is his favorite hot drink. All three of the kids enjoyed it as well. It's a keeper. I made it just as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States