Mayan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good recipe! I made the servings for 2. I only double the milk and cocoa mix (didn't use instant). With 2 cups of milk; 6 tablespoons of cocoa... I used 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1 pinch of cayenne pepper. It came out great. It wasn't too much cinnamon and the right amount of pepper. Me and roommate enjoyed. I gave four stars for the amount of cinnamon recommended. It should be 1/2 tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was pretty good. I will make it again, but with changes. I will add more cinnamon and less cayenne pepper. Maybe my pinch is bigger than others, but it was just too much for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
this burned my throat with every sip i took. i tried one of the reviews where they put 1 1/2 c. milk and 2 Tbs. of cocoa and 2 Tbs. of sugar and i added a splash of vanilla. then i saw my peppermint essential oil and i thought what the heck! i put one drop in and it smelled of candy cane hot choc! i tried it delicious! i like this recipe :) thanks for sharing your homemade easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyssa, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
pretty good tho I'm not sure I'm sold all the way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I added a shot of espresso. Too much cinnamon for me. More like a 1/4 teaspoon would be better. I had some freshly opened cayenne so a pinch was nice and spicy. The older your pepper, the more you need. Don't recommend heating the milk to boiling point. It ruins the milk. I like to use almond milk for extra richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
it was good, but I think I might've put in a liiitttllleee too much cayenne pepper so it was a bit too spicy for my taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a real treat! I used a tbsp of really good unsweetened cocoa powder and about 1 tsp superfine sugar in place of the prepared hot chocolate mix which made it even more delicious. I even used skim milk and it was rich, creamy and satisfying, perfect for warming up after playing in the snow! My daughter liked hers with just the cinnamon, and I probably went a little light on that in hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
In the wintertime, I like to have a cup of hot chocolate before I go to bed at night. It's both warming and relaxing. I ran across this recipe and was apprehensive about the amount of cinnamon and the addition of cayenne. But I have seen so many cayenne/chocolate parings lately that I decided to try it. SO much better than plain hot chocolate! I WILL have this often -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My entire family loved this. I was unsure at first but my hubby now believes this is his favorite hot drink. All three of the kids enjoyed it as well. It's a keeper. I made it just as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've been putting cayenne and cinnamon in my hot chocolate for years, but one other thing I add that makes it even more wonderful is about 1/8-1/4 tsp of ginger powder. Trust me...it's so delicious! Also, I don't use instant hot chocolate. I use about a cup and a half of milk, 2 tbls of cocoa powder and 2 tbls of sugar. I whisk it all together, along with the spices, over the stove. Just till blended and hot (don't boil it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BegYourPardun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States