Mawmenye (Lentils and Beef Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
A little on the sweet side. I would reduce the amount of raisins and also chop the figs into very small pieces. For some reason, my meat turned out a bit too chewy, even though I followed the directions to a T. Perhaps next time I would shorten the browning time in the pan. That being said, it's an interesting twist on stew and has lots of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I loved the flavors but I don't have nutmeg so I changed nutmeg to fenugreek and it was delicious! I also used radish instead of turnip. What a wonderful smell! Mmmm. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I loved this but my husband did not, so I will make this for me on the nights he can not be home. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This is excellent - sweet and unique, my boyfriend couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
A fantastic combination of flavors. Great for those cooler fall nights when stews keep you warm from the inside. This one quickly became a favoritte in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Flavor is a 5, but dish in not too colorful. I will make it again! I substituted potato and onion for turnip (no turnips at the local farmstand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very good! I took other member's advise and cut the figs really small. I am a true believer of flavor so I tripled the spices plus I added another 1/4 cup of turnip (3/4 cup). It was a really big hit! I cook for my boyfriend and our employee for LUNCH, everybody LOVED it. I also changed things around for the crockpot. I cooked the beef in the chicken stock (plus about 3/4 cup) in the crockpot overnight on the "warm" setting. Once I arrived at work (7:30am), I added the turnips and lentils and placed the cooker on low. About an hour before serving, I added the raisins and figs. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have several of the ingredients, so had to substitute (sweet potato for turnip, assorted dried fruit for figs), but it was still a great recipe for using beef stew meat and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It was a hit! I can't believe we ate turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Can't put into words how my whole family reacted to this recipe other then, no one liked it and it was a not pleasant. I'm sorry, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States