Maverick Moose Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Good recipe .. I used venison cut into bite-sized chunks rather than ground meat .. added a sprinkle of ground cloves. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Dimitry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Excellent chili and very easy to make! I used ground Alaskan Moose and stuck to the recipe. Topped with shredded cheddar and a little sour cream. I'm a novice cook and this was a success for me. Exceptional chili... thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by High Altitude Miner

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Best chili I've EVER made!!! Only change = I use 2 pounds of either ground deer or ground moose and minus the bell pepper. RAVES every time I make this meal!!! Little bit of shredded cheddar or sour cream or chives or onions on top...whatever your fancy!! IT'S TOTALLY "DA BOMB"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I altered this recipe to suit what I had on hand and it turned out great!! I used 1 10 oz can Rotel, a 12 oz can of diced tomatoes and an 8oz can of tomato sauce. I also replaced the canned beans with dried pinto & kidney beans that I cooked. Instead of using the slow cooker I made mine on the stove and simmered it for about 2 hours. The end result was out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
We're out in Texas so we used ground deer and also threw in some deer sausage. One note: The seasonings tasted better when we added them toward the end - we added ours about 1 hour before chili was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wonderful with ground buffalo. But it makes too much with too litte meat. I use 1 lb of ground buffalo or ground turkey and ONE can of all the beans and half the bell pepper and onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coleman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IrishMountainGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love this recipe, I took it from a chili recipe my dad made when I was a child and added my own touch to it. Very easy to do. Make it in the morning and have it that night for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States