Maurice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is EXACTLY the salad I remember from Hudson's Dining Room! I even made the little french hard rolls they used to serve with this and had a very nostalgic dinner! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I'm sorry folks, but I've made this twice and while it is slightly similar, it's miles away from the taste of what was served in the restaurants and sold in the stores. If anyone can shed any light on this, I'd certainly appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Excellent salad with many fond memories attached! My go-to recipe for bridal/baby showers. Serve with hard rolls or popovers along with a fruit salad and your menu is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Very good recipe! I am living overseas, so I amost always have to adapt my ingredients. I just used turkey lunch meat and low fat swiss cheese. Try adding a tsp of of poppy seeds. I am considering using the dressing as a filler for deviled eggs. Personally, I enjoyed just eating the dressing. I did add less mayonaise..about 1/2 cup and substituted dried onion flakes for the onion juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is the first rating I've given--and I felt I HAD to. My husband raved about this salad, and I loved it as well. I tend to eyeball ingredients, and I know I added a tad more mustard to the dressing than called for, but it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmidthead05

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is my favorite recipe from the PAA in Pittsburgh. They (and I) chop it all up together, then garnish with a green bell pepper ring and radish rose, instead of the pimento-stuffed olives. I make this for all my holiday dinners and it is always the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I'm not familiar with this salad so don't have anything to compare it to, but I wish I had listened to the little voice in my head which said "this is too much Swiss cheese". After picking a lot of it out the salad was very good especially the dressing. I'll try again with less Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
It seems like a lot of ingredients but it's totally worth it. The dressing tastes better if you leave it in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
The was an excellent salad for the whole family. I did not have pickles so instead I replaced them with a can of Latino Veggie Mix. It is found near the pickles and olives. It was even easier and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My grandmother would take me to lunch at Hudson's on special occasions, and we would always get the Maurice Salad and a popover. Thank you for bringing back all of these wonderful memories for me. (Oh, and your rendition of the salad is delicious too!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cobb Salad

This classic main-dish salad stars eggs, crispy bacon, chicken, and avocadoes.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States