Maureen's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were so yummy! I cooked ours in the crockpot, so easy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made these for our labor day/my mom's birthday cookout. I wanted an alternative dish to the normal baked beans and these were a hit! Everyone was leery to try them at first because of all the different beans, but after tasting them, everyone ate them up! I followed the recipe exactly, except my grocery store didn't have wax beans, so I used a can of pintos in it's place. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great hearty beans - a great complement to a holiday bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I had to do a great many things to these beans to improve the flavor I'm sad to say. 1 tablespoon of chili powder is not NEARLY enough to spice this up. I cooked mine the entire 5 hours and at some point, maybe halfway through, I decided enough was enough with waiting for the magic to happen and added a chopped bell pepper, a chopped jalapeno, a handful of dehydrated onions, and several more tablespoons of chili powder. To be fair, I did use a bigger can of tomato sauce initially than was called for though. In the end we liked the flavor, but when I get around to submitting a photo, you'll notice how amazingly un-pretty this recipe is. The green, yellow, red, and whitish beans floating in a bright red sauce (not to mention the green beans being so long and obviously green beans) make it look...odd, to say the least. I may try this recipe again with different beans & extra dark brown sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Also being named Maureen I had to try this one and was glad I did. These baked beans are a meal by themselves. This is the healthiest pot of baked beans I've ever eaten as well as being very tastey and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
real flavor in this recipe. a little sweet and savory. used chicken sausage and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Just Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe (which is unusual for me) and everyone that I have served this to loved it and have had many people ask me for the recipe. The only thing I did different is to make it in a crock pot, it does get a little soupy but I have not had any complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Sherlock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Awesome! The best baked beans I've ever had. Of course, I don't really like baked beans, usually, because I find them too sickeningly sweet and one-dimensional. These beans were still sweet-ish, but also quite savory and flavorful. I added all the sugar and could possibly have been okay with adding more. I think much of the flavor and savory-ness comes from the sausage (I added a little extra because that's what size package I had), so don't substitute it with unseasoned ground meat. One last note: I cooked this in a slow cooker for about 2 hours on high and 2 hours on low, and it started out nice and thick, but got increasingly thin (as the fat rendered out of the sausage or something?) during cooking. Actually got a little soupy as time went on. I'm sure this would not be a problem if made in the oven. Because of the soupiness, I actually ate mine over rice, which was DEEE-licious. In any case, as a baked bean non-eater, I think these baked beans are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this for a potluck and was asked several times for the recipe. It was a definite hit. The only thing I did different was to add some crumbled bacon on top before serving. Next time I make it I think I'll add 8 oz more sausage. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States