Maureen's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were so yummy! I cooked ours in the crockpot, so easy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made these for our labor day/my mom's birthday cookout. I wanted an alternative dish to the normal baked beans and these were a hit! Everyone was leery to try them at first because of all the different beans, but after tasting them, everyone ate them up! I followed the recipe exactly, except my grocery store didn't have wax beans, so I used a can of pintos in it's place. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great hearty beans - a great complement to a holiday bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I had to do a great many things to these beans to improve the flavor I'm sad to say. 1 tablespoon of chili powder is not NEARLY enough to spice this up. I cooked mine the entire 5 hours and at some point, maybe halfway through, I decided enough was enough with waiting for the magic to happen and added a chopped bell pepper, a chopped jalapeno, a handful of dehydrated onions, and several more tablespoons of chili powder. To be fair, I did use a bigger can of tomato sauce initially than was called for though. In the end we liked the flavor, but when I get around to submitting a photo, you'll notice how amazingly un-pretty this recipe is. The green, yellow, red, and whitish beans floating in a bright red sauce (not to mention the green beans being so long and obviously green beans) make it look...odd, to say the least. I may try this recipe again with different beans & extra dark brown sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Also being named Maureen I had to try this one and was glad I did. These baked beans are a meal by themselves. This is the healthiest pot of baked beans I've ever eaten as well as being very tastey and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
real flavor in this recipe. a little sweet and savory. used chicken sausage and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Just Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe (which is unusual for me) and everyone that I have served this to loved it and have had many people ask me for the recipe. The only thing I did different is to make it in a crock pot, it does get a little soupy but I have not had any complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Sherlock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Awesome! The best baked beans I've ever had. Of course, I don't really like baked beans, usually, because I find them too sickeningly sweet and one-dimensional. These beans were still sweet-ish, but also quite savory and flavorful. I added all the sugar and could possibly have been okay with adding more. I think much of the flavor and savory-ness comes from the sausage (I added a little extra because that's what size package I had), so don't substitute it with unseasoned ground meat. One last note: I cooked this in a slow cooker for about 2 hours on high and 2 hours on low, and it started out nice and thick, but got increasingly thin (as the fat rendered out of the sausage or something?) during cooking. Actually got a little soupy as time went on. I'm sure this would not be a problem if made in the oven. Because of the soupiness, I actually ate mine over rice, which was DEEE-licious. In any case, as a baked bean non-eater, I think these baked beans are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this for a potluck and was asked several times for the recipe. It was a definite hit. The only thing I did different was to add some crumbled bacon on top before serving. Next time I make it I think I'll add 8 oz more sausage. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States