Maui Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Amazing!! I've used this recipe several times as a dressing for broccoli slaw! It's similar to the salad kit at Costco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I have 3 words for this: won-der-full!! I did have to substitue dijon mustard as I did not have the dry mustard, and it came out delicious. Thanks for a great recipe! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
It was dressing. Other than that, didn't much care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This salad dressing is addictive. After I make it I am guaranteed to eat a salad once a day until it all disappears. I didn't have a sweet onion on hand, so I used a regular yellow onion and the onion flavor was quite strong. If you like onion flavor it is delicious. I will remake with a sweet or mild onion too and I might have to give it a 6 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Made exactly as written, consistency too thin, but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I was so hopeful that this would be close to the sweet onion dressing that was my family's favorite for several years before it totally disappeared off the shelf. It is a good starting point but will need some work. The garlic flavor was very strong (and I put garlic in just about everything), the lemon flavor was too noticable, and the consistency was off (too thin). I'm not going to give up though - thanks for a starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'll give it 4 stars 'cuz it sounds so good...before I try making it, though...where can I find papaya seeds? I've never seen them before...not even in the int'l foods section. I'd hate to omit them as the recipie calls for a good amount of them and one reviewer says not to skip the seeds! Help! Would love to give this a try! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Sweet and mildly tangy salad dressing. This has a nice flavor and is quick to put together. My only issue is that it is pretty thin, and that may be because I didn't add the papaya seeds. We also enjoyed this as the dressing for coleslaw. When I make it again, I'm going to add finely diced onions after I remove it from the blender to give it a little texture. Thanks dawny for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Whenever I make dressings, I make a few different kinds at a time, and this is always one of them. It's really, really delicious. I make some changes though: Twice the garlic, less sugar, wet mustard instead of dry, and sometimes a red onion instead of white. This tastes great on other things too. I put it on burritos, use it as a dipping sauce for potato croquettes and french fries, and put it on sandwiches (not too much or it gets messy). I find that the longer it stays in the fridge, the more intense the onion flavor gets, which is something I like. But we eat it so fast that it rarely gets to that point. This dressing is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
If I could drink this dressing out of the container I would...that's how good it is! I made this tonight to go with a simple green salad and I am officially declaring it my favorite dressing. It is a little on the sweet side, but I didn't mind it, and you could always decrease the sugar to taste. I expected the onion flavor to be overpowering, but it wasn't. It had a mild onion flavor with a hint of sweetness. None of the ingredients overpowered another one, but instead made the perfect blend of flavors. This is definitely going to be one of my go to dressings. I see a lot of salads in my future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

All about Onion Powder

Discover the many benefits of having onion powder on hand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States