Matzo Brei Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is very simple and traditional recipe. I soak in warm water. You have better control. You don't want it to soaky. I like it with just a little firmness. Let the egg mixture soak a little longer to soften completely. I use only oil. The very traditional way is to use schmoltz (rendered chicken fat). My grandmother made it that way. Definitely use a little minced onion. Fry the onion first then add the matzo mixture. This is the Russian way. My wife's family is Polish and they separate the eggs and fold in the whites and serve with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I soak the matzo pieces in cold milk for at least five minutes (rather than water). I leave out the pepper and fry it in butter, too. With sugar on top it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Good recipe as written. However, I mix the eggs and the matzo together with salt, pepper to taste and about 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder. Let sit for about 15 minutes to soften the matzo. As you're cooking taste to make sure there is enough salt and pepper. That was my grandmother's recipe and a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Another classic recipe. Leave out the salt and pepper and sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar or some jam for a deliciously sweet passover breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Really good. Next time I will try it will some syrup or jam but I thought it was still good just the way it is. My picky son even ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe is great with tweaking. My Dad used to make this a lot for us growing up. Really play around with it until it is perfect for you. We eat it with my grandmother's homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I had only had matzo brei with unsoaked matzo. This was a nice variation. Good with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I sauteed a little onion in butter, rather than oil, and added the matzo brei mixture when the onions were translucent to make a mixture that I enjoyed even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Joseph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
My children really needed something new around the middle of Passover, and this fit the bill! My daughter has already asked if we can make this again after the holidays are over. We also liked it with sugar, but I can imagine how good it will be with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Whenever i make matzo brei, i cook it in either butter or butter flavored Pam, and serve it savory with sour cream. If i serve it with jam, i never add sugar. It tastes perfect either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States