Matzo Apple Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Tastey & easy. Instructions didn't say to grease the pan, so it stuck. Next time I'll know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This has definite possibilities but I'm going to tweak it a bit. I substituted Splenda for the sugar & added raisons instead of the dried cranberries (so there'd be no extra sugar). Next time, I'm going to spray the pan with PAM, increase the applesauce (I used unsweetened) to 1/2 cup, increase the Splenda added to the mixture to 1/3 cup, & decrease the amount of Splenda & cinnamon used in the topping. I also will bake it for at least an hour as the apples weren't soft after 45 minutes. I'm also going to use whole wheat matzah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Made it last night for the sedar. It was wonderful. I did substitute raisins for the dried cranberries. I doubled the reicpe so I'd have some left over for tonight. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Great tasting side dish or dessert! It was simple to make and bake! I loved the fact that it was a low fat - low calorie dish that didn't taste low in fat and calories! Good addition to any dinner meal! I used Gala apples in mine and adjusted the recipe to yield 12 servings and baked it in a oval baking dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Very good, especially for a Passover recipe. Used 2 very large apples and raisins instead of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I tried this recipe for our Passover Seder and it was delicious! Everyone at the table loved it. It was easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Made this Tues. It went over so well that I had to make another one right there and then- everyone was willing to wait for another piece- this was a crowd of people who watch their weight so I substituted the baking form of splenda and sugar free applesauce also spread a thin layer of applesauce on top and left out the cranberries I also put 2 tablespoons of potato flour to make it a more firm texture i made it to serve 15 and did not have enough!!!Even the kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Two years in a row, I've been the star of both seders and chavurah (friends) gatherings with this simple but utterly delicious recipe!! It is a teen favorite too, and can cross over to dessert as well as entree. Very healthy too. One of the most successful matzo recipes ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe! I usually don't enjoy kugel, but I found this recipe to be quite tasty. I used only 3 matzo crackers, and crushed the heck out of them. The dish was moist, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is a wonderful kugel. I have been making it for years. I always have an interfaith seder and even the non-jewish participants liked it and asked for the recipe. I highly recomend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States