Matzo Apple Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I tried this recipe for our Passover Seder and it was delicious! Everyone at the table loved it. It was easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
Tastey & easy. Instructions didn't say to grease the pan, so it stuck. Next time I'll know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
this is great,and real easy . and just in time for passover .happy passover .and this is a great site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This has definite possibilities but I'm going to tweak it a bit. I substituted Splenda for the sugar & added raisons instead of the dried cranberries (so there'd be no extra sugar). Next time, I'm going to spray the pan with PAM, increase the applesauce (I used unsweetened) to 1/2 cup, increase the Splenda added to the mixture to 1/3 cup, & decrease the amount of Splenda & cinnamon used in the topping. I also will bake it for at least an hour as the apples weren't soft after 45 minutes. I'm also going to use whole wheat matzah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
My family thought this was great - even the kids. It is a sweet dish so keep that in mind. I used unsweetened applesauce and it was still sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Got rave reviews at the sedar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This is a very similar recipe to one my mother makes. However, it is possible to find kosher for passover wide noodles and substitute for the matzah for a more "real" kugel texture and taste. Either way, a variation of this recipe is served at our seder every year, and always goes over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Made it last night for the sedar. It was wonderful. I did substitute raisins for the dried cranberries. I doubled the reicpe so I'd have some left over for tonight. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Made this Tues. It went over so well that I had to make another one right there and then- everyone was willing to wait for another piece- this was a crowd of people who watch their weight so I substituted the baking form of splenda and sugar free applesauce also spread a thin layer of applesauce on top and left out the cranberries I also put 2 tablespoons of potato flour to make it a more firm texture i made it to serve 15 and did not have enough!!!Even the kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This is a wonderful kugel. I have been making it for years. I always have an interfaith seder and even the non-jewish participants liked it and asked for the recipe. I highly recomend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States