Matty's Brie Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Tried this last night for a "girls' night out" with friends. It was a big hit - - - flavors are wonderful. One tip: to remove the "rind" from the brie, put cheese in freezer for 10 minutes and the peeling is a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I absolutely love this fondue! A little tip: I mix the cornstarch with a bit of water to make a sort of paste, then add that to the pot with the wine and cheese. I think that helps the cornstarch "set" and give the fondue thickness. Otherwise I've had it come out too lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This recipe has potential but not as is. All you can taste is alcohol and LOTS of it. My husband and I tried it because I was considering it for a party. We ended up having to double the cheese and it still tasted like liquid wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I served this for Valentines Day for my husband. We both loved it. I did end up being a little on the salty side. Neither of us seemed to mind it as it wasn't overpoweringly salty. (I should have tasted it before adding additional salt) I don't keep wine or sherry on hand but I did have white cooking wine and cooking sherry so there wasn't an alcohol taste like some of the other reviewers found. Since there was only two of us eating I cut the recipe in half, except for the garlic, I still crushed up 2 cloves and it was perfect. I served this with beer bread, cooked chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper) apples and veggies. We both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is a great and easy way to make a cheese sauce. Although I was apprehensive at first, I really liked the cornstarch tossed with the cheese. Much easier than making a roux based sauce. It melted nicely without getting grainy. I also liked that it contained ingredients that I had around the kitchen. I might change up the cheese next time, it was a little too salty. Could have been the butterkase cheese I added to increase volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Pits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I elected to make this fondue for a wine & cheese party based on its simple ingredient list and good reviews. This was the worst fondue I ever tasted. Peeling the brie also proved cumbersome. It was very bitter and the taste of alcohal was stong. I used a white table wine as opposed to a dry white wine and maybe this substituation, which I deemed minimal, caused the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was good, not my favorite, but my hubby really liked it. I liked that it was not too thick. Went great with granny smith apples and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Let it sit a little before serving to let it coagulate a bit so it is not runny when you eat it. Other than that, this makes a delicious fondue! We used grilled chicken, apples, and baked french bread to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was delicious! Next time I'm going to double the recipe... it was one of the first things gone at my holiday party. I didn't even get to the nutmeg as everyone had started eating it without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsupcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States