Matty's Brie Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made a couple changes to this recipe. I used chicken broth instead of wine. I changed the cornstarch to flour and added a few ounces of jalapeno pepper cheese. It was delicious. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is nice because the flavour isn't as strong as some other fondues I've had. Especially a brie one with a tiny amount of gorgonzola, which totally wrecked it. This one works much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I served this for Valentines Day for my husband. We both loved it. I did end up being a little on the salty side. Neither of us seemed to mind it as it wasn't overpoweringly salty. (I should have tasted it before adding additional salt) I don't keep wine or sherry on hand but I did have white cooking wine and cooking sherry so there wasn't an alcohol taste like some of the other reviewers found. Since there was only two of us eating I cut the recipe in half, except for the garlic, I still crushed up 2 cloves and it was perfect. I served this with beer bread, cooked chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper) apples and veggies. We both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe was not what I thought it would taste like. The wine taste is overpowering. I wouldn't recommend serving it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Let it sit a little before serving to let it coagulate a bit so it is not runny when you eat it. Other than that, this makes a delicious fondue! We used grilled chicken, apples, and baked french bread to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I elected to make this fondue for a wine & cheese party based on its simple ingredient list and good reviews. This was the worst fondue I ever tasted. Peeling the brie also proved cumbersome. It was very bitter and the taste of alcohal was stong. I used a white table wine as opposed to a dry white wine and maybe this substituation, which I deemed minimal, caused the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I absolutely love this fondue! A little tip: I mix the cornstarch with a bit of water to make a sort of paste, then add that to the pot with the wine and cheese. I think that helps the cornstarch "set" and give the fondue thickness. Otherwise I've had it come out too lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was good, not my favorite, but my hubby really liked it. I liked that it was not too thick. Went great with granny smith apples and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! It is such a simple recipe but who doesn't like melted brie!?! I made this for a New Year's Eve party and it was the hit of the party. Get ingredients always make the dish so don't be cheap with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is a great and easy way to make a cheese sauce. Although I was apprehensive at first, I really liked the cornstarch tossed with the cheese. Much easier than making a roux based sauce. It melted nicely without getting grainy. I also liked that it contained ingredients that I had around the kitchen. I might change up the cheese next time, it was a little too salty. Could have been the butterkase cheese I added to increase volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States