Matt's Crab & Clam Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was good. However, it definitely needed to be spiced more thoroughly. I added about 1.5 tsps of dill weed, 1/2 tsp of yellow curry powder, 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also added 2 cans of crab instead of one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was very good. I used fresh cracked crab legs (alot of work) that I had bought on sale and froze a couple weeks ago. My only complaint is that the soup is not thick at all. I added some cornstarch and water to thicken to my preference. Great soup, a nice change from chicken noodle and chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnklein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Persia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I thought this was a very tasty soup, loved the combination of crab and clams. The finished product was a bit thin for me. I did add extra veggies and even added some left over mashed potato, used extra flour/water slurry to thinken, but even that didn't do it for me. I guess I just like a thicker soup. Next time I will puree some of the veggie/potato/broth mix and add back before adding the seafood. I also cooked this much longer that the recipe calls for, even small diced potatoes need a longer cooking time. Thanks for a nice submission, I enjoyed trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was so delicious, it was kind of on the thin side, but I did add an extra can of clams w/juice... I also added an extra bouillon since it called for 6 cups water and only 3 buillon cubes. It was very good!.. I thickened with more milk and cornstarch. Served with crusty french bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Excellent! Some prep work required but well worth it. Thanks Matt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Kind of bland,crab and clams didn't have enough flavor. My fault. Next time I will put shrimp, & a few more vegtables wouldn't hurt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARCELI6
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
FANTASTIC!!! ok, perhaps the reason why I chose to make this dish is because my boyfriend's name is Matt, but this was wonderful! Some modifications...I honestly didn't want to put canned crab in the bisque, instead used 2 cans of minced clams (not drained) and one can of oysters (DRAINED). Perhaps with the extra juice from the extra can of clams, it was too soupey, so we added one more tablespoon of flour. We also thought it was a bit bland while simmering, so we added one more buillion cube and garlic salt to taste. This was amazing and Matt and Me are super happy we found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I tried this recipe last night, but made a small addition of 1 lb of bay scallops. It went very well, and was an excellent soup that Jason and I had with garlic bread. Great job Matt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I didn't use fresh crab, instead I used the canned kind, which is what it asked for. This has a good flavor and it's almost like potato soup with a twist. I was expecting the potatoes to fall apart due to the cooking time but they stayed together pretty well...I'm not sure if they're supposed to fall apart because it's a bisque. Easy on the red pepper because a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
My boyfriend came home with a spider crab he caught in the harbor down the street, having no idea what to make I searched and found this amazing recipe. It takes a bit longer to make than it states but it is well worth it. I loved it, my friends loved it and many asked me for the recipe. I brought the leftovers to Easter and the grandparents loved it too. If you use live crab make sure you kill it before you place into boiling water (15 mins). Also I added a bit more carrots and celery. Make sure to use a white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States