Matt's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kyomi74
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This an awesome recipe! I did add my own touch tho... I seasoned with Garlic Powder and Pepper, doubled the amount of crushed garlic and and a sliced small yellow onion, which I sweated in the chicken grease after browning the pieces, I also added about 1/4 cup Chinese Oyster Sauce in the end. It is Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Easy and tasty! The chicken tasted wonderful. Also, it was simple to make with ingredients already in my cabinets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this version a few weeks ago and my family loved it, so I'm back making it this way again tho it's not that different from how I was taught... Great for first timers as well bcuz it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Perfect. This is classic adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was awesome. I didn't have peppercorns on hand but I just eyeballed everything else. I'd also browned some sausage to put into some dirty rice, and I sauteed the mashed garlic cloves in the grease. Used a slotted spoon to remove the garlic then used some water to get the yummy bits out of the skillet. That went into the chicken sauce. It was delicious. I like a lot of flavor though, so I probably used quite a bit more soy sauce and vinegar than most people. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe was not bad. The first time I made it as-is. The second time I made it with apple cider vinegar instead of white and both my husband and I thought it was an improvement. This will probably be my go-to recipe when I just want to throw together dinner since it's so easy and I always have the ingredients on hand. Sometimes I add a few tablespoons of sugar to the sauce to make things interesting. Always spoon the sauce over rice! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Excellent !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My family loved this receipe, I did tweak it a bit after making it the first time. I used apple cider vinegar, low sodium soy sauce, added whole garlic cloves, a small quartered onion and two extra bay leaves..It gave it an extra kick. It even tastes better the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
i used chicken breast, next time i'll do leg meat or pork. I used the exact measurements and found it to be quite bland and even a bit over cooked,although breast is a little dryer than leg meat maybe a 25-30 min simmer would suffice. i was worried that it may be salty on account of it saying to add water if salty but it totally could have used MORE soy sauce and probably more bay leaf, and unfortunately the traditional flavor just wasn't there. i did add half an onion with the garlic and i will definitely NOT be using this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is surprisingly good. I used wine vinegar instead and thigh fillets. Great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States