Matt's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very good chicken. Did as another reviewer did and cooked it on the BBQ wrapped in foil. I used chicken broth in place of the water, and very low sodium soy sauce.I also took the chicken out of the foil and put it on the grill for the grill marks.The chicken turned out nice and juicy. This is a keeper for me. Thank you moaa for this very tasty recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Real good. I did this in a foil tray on the grill. When they were all done, I removed from the liquid and grilled just until I had grill marks. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Per my husband's request, I serve this once a week. My guys eat enough to feed an army, so I have to adjust accordingly. I use two family packs of legs & thighs, which lasts two meals. Everyone in my house loves the flavor and tenderness of the chicken. It's even better the next day. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
First time trying chicken adobo. I subbed apple cider vinegar, as suggested. I only had four thighs, but made the full recipe. Skimmed fat & peppercorns from the broth, added a little water & used that to make the rice. This wasn't vinegary or too salty. I'd say the rice was better than the chicken. It was pretty bland, but I've noticed other recipes call to marinate it so perhaps that's the key. 'Sure was easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kyomi74
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This an awesome recipe! I did add my own touch tho... I seasoned with Garlic Powder and Pepper, doubled the amount of crushed garlic and and a sliced small yellow onion, which I sweated in the chicken grease after browning the pieces, I also added about 1/4 cup Chinese Oyster Sauce in the end. It is Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Easy and tasty! The chicken tasted wonderful. Also, it was simple to make with ingredients already in my cabinets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this version a few weeks ago and my family loved it, so I'm back making it this way again tho it's not that different from how I was taught... Great for first timers as well bcuz it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Perfect. This is classic adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was awesome. I didn't have peppercorns on hand but I just eyeballed everything else. I'd also browned some sausage to put into some dirty rice, and I sauteed the mashed garlic cloves in the grease. Used a slotted spoon to remove the garlic then used some water to get the yummy bits out of the skillet. That went into the chicken sauce. It was delicious. I like a lot of flavor though, so I probably used quite a bit more soy sauce and vinegar than most people. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe was not bad. The first time I made it as-is. The second time I made it with apple cider vinegar instead of white and both my husband and I thought it was an improvement. This will probably be my go-to recipe when I just want to throw together dinner since it's so easy and I always have the ingredients on hand. Sometimes I add a few tablespoons of sugar to the sauce to make things interesting. Always spoon the sauce over rice! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States