Matthew's Bearnaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Didn't have tarragon on hand but made it with tarragon infused vinegar. This was SOOOO good and so easy. Very creamy and fantastic flavor. We had it with filet mignon and it just really elevated the flavor of the meat. I've made bearnaise before but this one was super easy and the most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but it just wasn't very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe nearly exactly (used Tarragon Vinegar instead of wine vinegar, and fresh tarragon instead of dried) and it came out very nice. Color and texture were perfect. Do make sure you keep whisking until you're done - don't stop for a second. Not as tangy as I like but I can adjust that in the future. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Sorry, but this recipe did not work out for me at all. I made the reduction the night before, and then I reheated it before proceeding with the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, whisking for all I was worth, but the sauce separated anyway. It did not become "thick and creamy"; it remained sort of curdled-looking. I tried blending it in the blender, but it did not change consistency. I added some chopped fresh tarragon at the end, and apologized to my dinner guests. The flavor was not bad, but was more mild than I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Although this is a decent recipe, I hate to say it but I still like the packet mix you can buy at the store better. My mix was a little lumpy, the yolks scrambled on me just a bit, even though I followed the recipe instructions precisely. One tip, it does not take long for the vinegar to reduce, we're talking just a few minutes so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Jenwee99
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great recipe and instructions on how to make my favorite steak sauce. I couldnt find any white wine vinegar so I had to substitue tarragon vinegar. Great but definately not heart healthy! :) Tips: I would say the way I like it is to save the bits of shallots and tarragon and add that to the sauce when it finishes. It makes it a little chunky but I think it adds more flavor. Also you need to watch the heat while you are whisking the egg yolks, be ready to pull it off the double boiler for a few minutes it needs be. You can't start to make this sauce and walk away from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very easy and quick. (Have your hot melted butter ready before you start whisking the eggs.) Yum - can't wait to make this again to serve with crab legs for new years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kamuela, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great sauce! A little bit too tart, so I added 1/4 tsp of sugar to get rid of some of the tartness, and this made it outstanding! I also learned the hard way that you CANNOT stop whisking, no matter what. Not even for a second, or else the sauce will separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Amazing, creamy and incredibly tasty. Not used to whisking so much, but definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States