Matrimonial Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I have made this recipe several times to serve at functions. Everyone loves it. It is just like the bars sold in the bakeries in Canada where I grew up. I was able to find soft wonderful dates which I could mash with a spoon, so I did that rather than add sugar & water and cook. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was a good recipe. My only change: I used a 8x8" pan instead of the 9x12" because I didn't seem to have enough oat mixture for both bottom and top layers. The end result was a thicker bar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Overall, this was a good recipe. I'm not sure if this was meant to be a snack or a dessert, but I thought it was way too sweet. Next time I will reduce the brown sugar in the oatmeal/flour mixture. I used half whole wheat flour, half all purpose flour as other reviewers suggested, and thought the texture was perfect. They were very soft when I first pulled them out of the oven, but firmed up nicely after cooling for a while. These will work well for throwing in your lunch for a mid-afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is EXACTLY my mother's recipe - long lost but tastes and looks just like it. Thanks for sharing and bringing back a childhood favorite to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
To make this recipe more healthful for my diabetic hubby, I substituted whole wheat flour for half of the white flour (to increase dietary fiber). I also used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend in place of regular brown sugar, and Splenda instead of white sugar. To make slightly thinner bars (same taste - smaller portion), I made the recipe in the Pampered Chef large bar pan (about 10"x16") instead of in a regular 9"x13" inch pan. (Date layer is spread VERY thin to cover this added real estate.) Reduce cooking time to about 30 minutes. The end result: Very tasty! Even picky 6-yr. old really likes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transplanted Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Really really good and hearty . I only had about 1 and half cups of dates but that was plenty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
PERFECT and excellent! Wonderful! Delish! GREAT!!! I loved these, and will make again! I bought chopped dates (in the raisin aisle). I did not put sugar on the dates. I did not heat the mixture. I simply put the dates in the food processor with a little water to moisten, and proceeded with the recipe. It only took 30 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Fantastic! Brings back great memories of my Mom and her incredible edibles too! Mom would occasionally switch drained crushed pineapple for the dates. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Have made these for years! They are wonderful. I always add a bit of grated orange zest or a few tablespoons of orange marmalade to the date mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These are a long time favorite with us. Easy and quick. They are also very good using strawberry jam instead of the date mixture, as a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States