Matrimonial Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
These turned out wonderfully! The only thing I would do differently is maybe add a bit of milk or water to the mixture, it came out very crumbly the first time. Still great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These are a long time favorite with us. Easy and quick. They are also very good using strawberry jam instead of the date mixture, as a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
These are delish!!!!!!!!! I didn't have dates so I tried dried cranberries which was really good. The crust are really buttery and chewy. I can't wait to try these with the dates. I highly, highly recommend this fabulous recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
must try this at least once it is so good. the only change I did was added orange zest and then chopped up the orange in small pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Fantastic! Brings back great memories of my Mom and her incredible edibles too! Mom would occasionally switch drained crushed pineapple for the dates. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
PERFECT and excellent! Wonderful! Delish! GREAT!!! I loved these, and will make again! I bought chopped dates (in the raisin aisle). I did not put sugar on the dates. I did not heat the mixture. I simply put the dates in the food processor with a little water to moisten, and proceeded with the recipe. It only took 30 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I have made this recipe several times to serve at functions. Everyone loves it. It is just like the bars sold in the bakeries in Canada where I grew up. I was able to find soft wonderful dates which I could mash with a spoon, so I did that rather than add sugar & water and cook. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Have made these for years! They are wonderful. I always add a bit of grated orange zest or a few tablespoons of orange marmalade to the date mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is EXACTLY my mother's recipe - long lost but tastes and looks just like it. Thanks for sharing and bringing back a childhood favorite to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Definitely made with butter makes them better. I did not add sugar to the dates, really not needed as they are sweet enough as is. I added orange rind to the oatmeal mixture, adds a very good taste. We always called these date squares but as my daughter has asked me to make all the desserts for her wedding, we will be keeping the name "matrimonial squares" for the occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States