Matrimonial Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I have made this recipe several times to serve at functions. Everyone loves it. It is just like the bars sold in the bakeries in Canada where I grew up. I was able to find soft wonderful dates which I could mash with a spoon, so I did that rather than add sugar & water and cook. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was a good recipe. My only change: I used a 8x8" pan instead of the 9x12" because I didn't seem to have enough oat mixture for both bottom and top layers. The end result was a thicker bar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Overall, this was a good recipe. I'm not sure if this was meant to be a snack or a dessert, but I thought it was way too sweet. Next time I will reduce the brown sugar in the oatmeal/flour mixture. I used half whole wheat flour, half all purpose flour as other reviewers suggested, and thought the texture was perfect. They were very soft when I first pulled them out of the oven, but firmed up nicely after cooling for a while. These will work well for throwing in your lunch for a mid-afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
To make this recipe more healthful for my diabetic hubby, I substituted whole wheat flour for half of the white flour (to increase dietary fiber). I also used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend in place of regular brown sugar, and Splenda instead of white sugar. To make slightly thinner bars (same taste - smaller portion), I made the recipe in the Pampered Chef large bar pan (about 10"x16") instead of in a regular 9"x13" inch pan. (Date layer is spread VERY thin to cover this added real estate.) Reduce cooking time to about 30 minutes. The end result: Very tasty! Even picky 6-yr. old really likes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transplanted Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is EXACTLY my mother's recipe - long lost but tastes and looks just like it. Thanks for sharing and bringing back a childhood favorite to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Really really good and hearty . I only had about 1 and half cups of dates but that was plenty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
PERFECT and excellent! Wonderful! Delish! GREAT!!! I loved these, and will make again! I bought chopped dates (in the raisin aisle). I did not put sugar on the dates. I did not heat the mixture. I simply put the dates in the food processor with a little water to moisten, and proceeded with the recipe. It only took 30 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Fantastic! Brings back great memories of my Mom and her incredible edibles too! Mom would occasionally switch drained crushed pineapple for the dates. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Have made these for years! They are wonderful. I always add a bit of grated orange zest or a few tablespoons of orange marmalade to the date mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These are a long time favorite with us. Easy and quick. They are also very good using strawberry jam instead of the date mixture, as a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States