Matar Pulao (Rice with Peas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Matar Pulao Haiku: "Smell was outstanding, subtle delightful flavor. But peas need more 'bite." I like green peas that pop both with color and texture, so I had to wait til the last few minutes of the rice cooking to add them (I'd previously thawed frozen ones so that the temperature wouldn't mess too much w/ the timing of the basmati, which was 18.5 min. for me, followed by 2 min. of off-heat rest w/ the lid still on.) And for the "it's bland!" whiners - basmati is a delicate rice, and this is meant to accompany a more robust main dish, not serve as the entree itself, so when you scoop it up w/ whatever else you've prepared (grilled chicken and asparagus for us), that light flavor is extraordinary, no additional seasoning needed! (Well, OK, maybe a little extra salt couldn't hurt, but shame-on-me, I like salt alot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
A lot of work and when preparing it smelled so good, but was not that flavorful when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Add two heaping tablespoons of yogurt after frying the peas with the spices for a few minutes...makes the rice moist and tender. I also add bay leaves and 1 tbsp cumin seeds to the spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Really, I give this recipe a 4.5 only because I added one ingredient that is not listed and that was garam marsala taken from another rater. I made this for my family two days ago and they loved it. NOw, I am back on here to print the recipe and make it for 50 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this recipe the other day, and while it was very aromatic and made my whole house smell AMAZING, it was kind of lacking in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousMeg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I think this was supposed to be good but I must have messed up the seasoning somewhere. My rice turned out bland. Don't be shy about seasoning with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
In my opinion, this rice dish is unnecessarily flavourless, but then perhaps that is because I am more used to the spicy Indian dishes. --Not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is an amazing dish. I generally add about 1/2 tsp of garam masala to the garlic powder paste for just a bit more flavor. Additionally (as indianakg stated), extra time for cooking the basmati is NOT necessary. I would never have believed it when I first started cooking Basmati either, but as long as a) the mixture continues to boil and b) you have a tight-fitting lid on your skillet, 10-15 minutes is honestly all it takes! I cook it MUCH more often now that I know this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
If you can't find whole spices, 2 cinnamon sticks is about a teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 3 cardamom seeds is about a half teaspoon ground, and 4 whole cloves is about a third teaspoon ground. Edit: Also, I just wanted to add that people commenting on the blandness of the rice are missing the point. This dish is not meant to stand alone, but to be served with other Indian dishes. It has complemented the curries I've served it with very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States