Masur Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Tasty, hearty and healthy. My husband and I loved it. The lentils did not require a full hour - closer to 40 mins. Used butter instead of ghee. Love the simplicity and excellent results of this recipe. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was good just as written. I did not have red onion, so substituted yellow onions. The second time I made it I used a little less water and cooked it until the lentils had fallen apart. I added a couple of diced Serranos as I had an abundance of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have made the recipe several times make just a few changes adding small red chili peppers in the water and removing them with the ginger and increasing some of the spices. My husband is from India and with those small changes he loves it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
this wasn't the best dahl recipe i have tried. there was too much red onion and not much else. also, it doesn't expain that the spices should be tempered and not just thrown in the pot. and there is way too much water. the lentils cook in much less time than the recipe calls for, so in 30 minutes you are left with all this water to be poured off. if you do a google search for 'mum's every day red lentils' - you will get a much more indian variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I liked this. I'd say that it could use a bit more flavor, but I just increased the amount of spices and I liked the end result better that way. I did add some chicken in, because I really felt like having a chicken and lentil soup tonight. It was very good. Thanks, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Sorry for not liking this recipe, it doesn't have enough spices nor an indian touch, lentil soup is being cooked in the Midle East since ages and it's so close to your recipe, i don't understand what makes this an indian version. The 7 cups of water are not enough should be 10, u can see from the pic how thick the soup is like custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This rocks! I added 4 additional garlic cloves, a little extra of each spice, one jalapeno, and one dried thai chili 'cause I like it spicy! Used canola oil because I didn't have ghee, neglected to add the cilantro, and added two roma tomatoes for variety. Will be making this VERY frequently from now on. Ate w/ homemade roti and mango chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This recipe was well written and concise. My S.O. and I found it a delight with all the exotic spices. I did make a few small changes such as adding a stalk of chopped celery, a bit of organic vegetable boullion and for his enjoyment, a chopped, browned, italian sausage. Great job, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I liked the spiciness of this thick soup! I only cooked the lentils for 1/2 the time, and they were done. This time, I used a yellow onion. When I make this again, I'll use the red onion. Wonderful vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I did not like the spices together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States