Master Recipe for Rich and Creamy Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made the Reeses cup version and it was good, but not great! I used 1 cup of gluten free cookies for the crust and based off another review, used 1/2 cup plain non fat yogurt instead of the sour cream & heavy whipping cream, which cut almost 100 calories. The base cheesecake was great but I didn't love the peanut butter cups mixed w/the cheesecake (and I love Reeses them on their own). I didn't use a water bath this time but let my eggs & cream cheese sit out much longer than usual & this was my first cheesecake that has not cracked, hooray :) I did cook it for an hour & then left the oven door closed w/the oven off for 10 minutes, then cracked the door for an extra 10 minutes prior to removing the cheesecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
It's in the oven now and looks great. I did not have a big enough roasting pan to create a water bath. So I did what another reviewer suggested and put hot water in a 13 by 9 dish under the cake. crossing my fingers and hoping it does not crack!! I'll update later. Just shut oven off after about 50min. and the cake is starting to crack. Hopefully the taste will make up for appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
this came out great the first time I made it...no cracks, creamy texture! I used the Master recipe then customized it using the Lemon recipe. I used crushed gingersnaps, 1 1/4 cups plus 3 Tbsp butter for the crust. I made my own lemon curd for the topping for the first time and it was perfect, you just have to be patient and whisk constantly over a double broiler. Also only use fresh lemon juice and not the bottled stuff. The contrast between the sweet and tart flavors are amazing. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
perfect perfect perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this according to directions (but with a graham cracker crust), except I didn't use the water bath, but put a pan of boiling water under the cheesecake. It was an absolute hit with everyone - except the one son who doesn't like cheesecake at all; he said it was OK. The texture was perfect - not grainy or lumpy. Next time I might add a half teaspoon of lemon extract. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Perfect! I had to modify slightly and bake in a glass 9x13 and it still came out perfectly! My first cheesecake won't be my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Creamier than expected, but very good! The water bath SEEMS more difficult than it actually is and the results are well worth the 2 minutes of preparation. There were NO cracks in my cake. I like that there are fewer ingredients than some recipes and it tastes like the real deal, not like a fluffy cake. Very versatile and could be made with any variety of crusts and toppings. Big hit in my house and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
i made this for Christmas Eve @ my daughter's. It was a huge hit with all ages! SO creamy and delish. The only variation I made was I used graham crackers on the bottom and lady fingers around the outside. (I couldn't decide which so I did both!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgoocher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I agree-this is the absolute BEST cheesecake recipe I have ever tried-and everyone who tastes it says the same thing! I like plain cheesecake, so that is how I made it: nice and simple. I have made it 2 weeks in a row now, and need to make 2 next week for Christmas. They both turned out beautiful! Flavor is wonderful, texture is smooth and creamy, very light tasting. I will not be looking for another recipe again! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymakes5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
this was wonderful. I wanted a pumpkin cheesecake so I added a can of pumpkin, 1 tsp. cinnimon 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. ground ginger. I baked it for 50 min and let it sit in oven for 30 after and it's done. Can't wait until it's cooled and it's time to eat! Tasted just a bit of it and it is creamy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States