Master Recipe for Rich and Creamy Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The Master Cheesecake recipe was very light and flavorful with a wonderful soft and featherweight texture. I followed the recipe's directions exactly, struggling somewhat with configuring the foil around the springform pan, but finally got it right! Also, I used the Famous Chocolate Wafers to coat the sides and bottom of the pan...a very, very thin coating that really didn't leave a crust at all once the cheesecake came out of the oven. Couple of suggestions: the Master Cheesecake recipe says forty minutes in the oven (in the bain marie). My batch could have gone another 8-10 minutes (and my oven was calibrated at 325 degrees). Then, as the recipe stated, I turned off the heat and left the oven door ajar for thirty minutes. Also, I don't understand just using 3 tablespoons of crumbs to line the sides of the pan...not enough. Should I have not lined the bottom of the pan? I guess I am use to the traditional thick graham cracker crust. Anyway, bottom-line here: excellent taste and texture and so light that you "almost" feel guiltless eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I made the tiramisu cheesecake. It was pretty good. The texture was definitely light and fluffy. And it actually tasted better the next day. Not an earth shattering recipe, though it won an award on USA Weekend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Extremely creamy, be careful not to beat for too long. Overall a great cheesecake, very versital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Made this cheesecake with the traditional graham cracker/walnut crust and loved it. I will definitely add this to my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I have been making cheesecakes for my husband's mens group for almost a year. I made the Apple Spice Cheesecake for them and have been told this has been the BEST cheesecake I have ever made. Then I made the Reese's cheesecake for my ladies' group (we need chocolate) and again they also thought it was the best. I highly recommend and look forward to making more variations! I did however change the crust to a more traditional graham cracker crust for the Apple Spice cheese cake by using 2 cups graham cracker crumbs, a stick of butter melted, and 1 cup of sugar. For the Reese's Cheesecake I used the Famous Chocolate Wafers. I used 2 cups crushed wafers and one stick of butter melted to make the crust. I like the thicker crusts and could not see how 3 Tbsps. of crumbs could make a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Excellent resource - you can take-off from here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Well Aged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made the Lemon version of this cheesecake for Easter and it was marvelous! Very creamy and just the right ratio of tart/sweet. I do not recommend the optional ladyfinger lining. Next time I will make a crust of shortbread cookies. Splurge on a good quality lemon curd. It makes all the difference. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.Cumminger
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was yummy, but not incredible. Needs more cooking time.. I would suggest not turning off the oven and leaving it ajar.. Instead, leave it on that temperature for the full time. I toppped it with a strawberry glaze and mixed berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was my first homemade cheesecake and my family loved it. I made it 4th of July weekend and put blueberry filling and strawberry filling on top to match the occasion. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I make a lot of cheesecake but I usually make it "simple" no sour cream and no cream..but I decided to give this one a shot. It was really good! A lot creamier than those that I usually make! Since it was my first time making this one, I kept to the original version. I just topped it with blueberries and strawberries. Also, I made a more traditional crust. I can't wait to experiment with some variations...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States