Massachusetts Straub Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was good, although not terribly memorable as far as chilis go. Admittedly, I didn't add the stew beef (I used only ground beef) but I don't think that would have altered the flavor profile substantially, just the texture. I'd make it again, but I also plan to keep experimenting and searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great tomato type based chili. It was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I have been making chili from scratch most of my life and this chili beats any I have tried. I substituted soyrizo for the ground beef to give it a little extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
So much better than chili with canned beans! I used a full pound of ground beef, instead of adding 1/2 lb of stew meat. I used freshly canned tomatoes and added a little extra beef broth. Since it was still a tad thin for out taste, I added a small can of tomato paste. As per other reviewers I soaked the beans overnight in a pot of water. Oh yeah... Keep the lid on the pot when simmering (unless you like SUPER thick chili).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of this chili! It was mild enough the kids enjoyed it, but not bland. I did omit the pepper due to family preference. I think this will be my "go-to" chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corinne
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I liked this a lot and so did my family. I cut way down on the chili powder for my toddlers sake and added some onion powder, garlic salt and a bit more italian seasoning than it called for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was wonderful!!!! I used buffalo stew meat and regular ground beef. I also added a can of tomato paste to help thicken it up, but those are the only changes I made and it wasn't too soupy and was seasoned perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I want to say this is a really great recipe but I made alot of changes to it. First I used a lb of ground turkey in place of the 1/2 lb of ground beef. I also added a sizable amount of chili powder and cumin, left out the italian seasoning, and added a package of chili seasoning. I left out the beef broth, I think it would have made it too soupy. I also used canned kidney beans. With all of these alterations, the recipe was awesome, my fiance and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very Good, Extremely Hardy. Did use canned beans instead of the dry. Would make again and just tweek to my families taste buds, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
For me it took about 3 hours for the stewing steak to be melt-in-the-mouth tender. I also added way more fresh minced garlic. I don't recommend cooking it uncovered - mine was covered, and I still ended up having to add some tomato juice so it didn't dry out. Anyway, this is good stuff. Thanks, Shawn and Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States