Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I whipped these up one night and followed the recipe exactly and they were the BEST mashed sweet potatoes that I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I like sugar as much as any sugar-holic, but don't care for candy-sweet dishes with a meal. This recipe was exactly what I wanted - the taste of sweet potatoes that wasn't drowned out by sugar, nuts, and the dreaded marshmallows. After washing and piercing them, I placed the potatoes in glass pan with a bit of water, covered with pierced plastic wrap and microwaved them as another reader suggested. The skin slipped off easily and to avoid the issues of strings, I sliced them into disks, then mashed using a hand masher. Based on the sage advice of others, I added the remaining ingredients incrementally until I achieved the desired consistency and taste. they were going so fast that I hid a couple of servings in the fridge to enjoy with the turkey leftovers today. Many thanks to the contributor - this recipe will be on our table for decades to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made only 2 yams and added milk, butter, brown sugar, and just a dash of maple syrup to taste. Was definitely good and different as I'm getting sick of garlic mashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I just made these for Thursday's Thanksgiving Dinner--They are so good, I can't wait for my guests to try them. I cut down on the maple syrup and added some brown sugar and cinnamon. I will probably also add some chopped pecans when serving. I used sugar free syrup and splenda brown sugar to make them diabetic friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I could eat the whole 6 servings! I didn't add as much milk b/c it would have been too runny. I add the butter first, then the syrup, and add milk until it is the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This recipe was delicious. Didn't really follow the amounts, I just eyeballed them and added what I thought was enough and how my family prefers it. I used pure maple syrup and poured only a bit of a time to taste, I didn't want it to come out to sweet. Also sprinkled some cinnamon. It was perfect, will do again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamma69

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I haven't always been a huge fan of sweet potatoes, but I know they are good for me, so I thought I would try this recipe! Mmm... Super awesome!!!! They tasted more like dessert than potatoes. I added some brown sugar and put in less maple syrup too and they came out great! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairlady78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delicous & easy enough for a week night. Once the potatoes were tender (at least 40 min total), it came together in minutes. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and just a tiny bit of syrup. Also only used about 1/4 cup of milk and wayyy less butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty, simple, and nutritious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I microwaved my potatoes, then peeled off the soft skins with my fingers. (Let them cool down first!) I also skipped the electric mixer and hand-mashed them. They were still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States