Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I did not like the taste of maple syrup with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Could just be me, but I found the consistency too stringy. I also didn't have real maple syrup, I'm sure that would have made a difference, but 3 stars for the consistency alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good recipe. I used half of the syrup and butter suggested. I thought it could have used even less syrup because I added more milk to mask the syrupy taste but my husband loved it. I suggest adding the butter and syrup in very small increments as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were great!!! I had traditionally used a recipe that had brown sugar in it as well, and was looking for something slightly less sweet. This wins a place at the Thanksgiving table every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very quick simple and most importantly delish recipe,planning on make it again for Thanksgiving Day dinner. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was delicious and so easy to make! Both my husband and I aren't big into sweet potatoes, but we loved this recipe. I only put in half of the maple syrup, and would put less butter in next time. We loved the buttery flavor, but I think it would be just as tasty (and healthier!) with a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
4.5 stars. I peeled and cut up 3 potatoes. Boiled them and mashed them. Mixed in 1/2 cup milk, 6 TBS butter, 1 TBS brown sugar, and 1 TBS of honey. Excellent. The sweetness was perfect (would not add any more sugar or honey). Made 3 meals-worth for our family (2 adults, 4 kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I added regular sugar and ground cumin, cloves, ginger, and cinnamon and used a lot less maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were easy and good- I only added cinnamon. I also used only 1 tbsp butter & halved the recipe. I boiled my potatoes whole, then cut them in half and scooped out the insides. I think that is easier than peeling and chopping raw potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I scaled this back to suit just two people. I peeled, cubed and boiled 1 large Yam for about 10 minutes. I added a little butter and milk, to taste. I knew the sweet potatoes would be naturally sweet so I only drizzled enough maple syrup to heighten it a little more without it being "overly" sweet. I stired and whipped the potatoes until they were the right consistency. Yams never disappoint me because they are already sweet and tasty. But with the addition of a the butter and maple syrup, these mashed sweet potatoes were buttery, flavorful and fluffy. I can already see that these will be a rotation for this year's Fall and Holiday meals. Tonight we all enjoyed these along with, "Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups, " "Garlic-Chive Mashed Potatoes, " and " Quick and Easy Sauteed Spinach, " also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States