Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used much less butter and syrup and it was sweet enough for me. Good flavour combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
excellent use of sweet potatoes..Next time I will add more carrots and reduce the amount of sweeteners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
For a less sweet version I use butter sour cream and a can of chopped green chilies. My family who won't eat sweet potatoes normally, love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Made a few modifications but everyone loved it - especially the kids. I cut the yams in half & nuked them for about 8 minutes, let them cool for 10 minutes and them scooped them easily right out of the skin. Added about about 2 tsp butter, fresh ground black pepper, a pinch of cinammin & about 2 tbsp of maple syrup. Just mashed with a potaoe masher (didn't need a blender) Also cooked 6 slices of bacon until crispy - chopped and stirred in & the end. Bacon isn't the healthiest add i know but will probably do it again for special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
A bit sweet with the maple syrup. I omitted the syrup all together and used sweet potatoes, not yams, which are a lot less sweet, but hard to find...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I did not like the taste of maple syrup with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Could just be me, but I found the consistency too stringy. I also didn't have real maple syrup, I'm sure that would have made a difference, but 3 stars for the consistency alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good recipe. I used half of the syrup and butter suggested. I thought it could have used even less syrup because I added more milk to mask the syrupy taste but my husband loved it. I suggest adding the butter and syrup in very small increments as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were great!!! I had traditionally used a recipe that had brown sugar in it as well, and was looking for something slightly less sweet. This wins a place at the Thanksgiving table every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very quick simple and most importantly delish recipe,planning on make it again for Thanksgiving Day dinner. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States