Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Will make it again. I did cut the amount of maple syrup by like 1/2. My toddler requires extra calories and this recipe was perfect for him. Separated into 3 containers to freeze for later. In one, I added a tiny bit of cardamom to it. On another, I added a tiny bit of cinnamon. I left the last one as is. One of his favorite ways to eat sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Zuniga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
VERY good, and different side! I did not add any milk, just butter, maple syrup and a little cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is the best recipe for mashed sweet potatoes!!! It's the maple sugar! This is always a hit at pot luck dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWilkes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I needed a quick side dish to accompany ribs and chose this one. It was quick and easy enough to make, and delicious. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Milk would make it too watery since the sweet potatoes were boiled. What's wrong with boiling the whole sweet potato and peeling it after it's done? Save one step of preparation. I used coconut oil and agave nectar to substitute butter and maple syrup. Added some nutmeg, cinnamon, and pinch of salt. I didn't measure any ingredient either. I"m going to use it for sweet potato pancake stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
All recipes comes thru again, I made this recipe with 1/2 cup of pancake syrup cause I didn't have maple syrup and it came out delicious served it with sautéed porterhouse steak and salad it was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Our friend made it and both my husband & I agree it's the best we've ever had. If you like yours Sweet..this is not fir you. It's the perfect amount of sweetness for us to enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've made this several times, and we really love it. I add a touch of vanilla (1/2 to 1 tsp) to round the flavor out, of this very simple recipe. I don't time the boiling; just when they're very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I tried this and love it with just a few changes. Like another reviewer I added cloves and nutmeg (sorry I don't know how much I just sprinkled them across the top of the potatoes). I used 4 HUGE sweet potatoes, probably 1/2 pound each and still I did not use all the maple syrup. I used 1/4 cup maple syrup, 1/4 cup agave, 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and the cloves and nutmeg to taste. It tastes wonderful. My husband thought it was too sweet still, but my 30-year old son and I loved it. Will make for Thanksgiving with some chopped roasted pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Granted I may only be 14, I made this recipe for my family's thanksgiving dinner and it won out over all the other dishes. Instead of store-bought syrup, I used my family's homemade maple syrup that I myself helped make. I also used farm fresh butter from my grandparent's dairy farm. Again, this is by far my favorite sweet potato recipe and will be made again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States