Mashed Sweet Potatoes by Jean Carper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We loved this. And,it made cooking for Thanksgiving a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Followed it exactly and it was awesome. My 2 year old couldn't get enough of it. Will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great easy recipe. Used maple syrup b/c I did not have amaretto. Left out the ginger (not usually a big fan) and they were great. I put my cut up, peeled sweet potatoes in a covered casserole dish for 3.5 min on high, then turned them and put them in again for same amt of time. Then they were perfect for mashing. I also put a little bit of water in with them when microwaving so they would not get dried out, drained it off before mashing. Worked great! I also did not use almonds b/c I was in a hurry but it would be pretty and I am sure taste great, maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Liked the ease of this recipe. Not quite convinced on flavor outcomes though. Playing with a vairety of spices, sugars, etc to change it up. Texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munith, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Perfect! Baked our potatoes, as had the oven on anyways for the turkey. These came out with just the right amount of sweetness - my family does not like the traditional sweet potatoe casseroles that look more like a dessert than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent - it was my family's favorite dish at Thanksgiving yesterday. I baked whole sweet potatoes wrapped in foil in the oven until very soft (90 minutes?), then let them sit on the counter until I was ready for them. They held the heat very well this way. I used the maple syrup & couple shakes of ginger & cinnamon each. I did add just a splash of orange juice. Outstanding, healthy, easy side dish I'll definitely make again. Don't forget the almonds! - they are a really nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Tasty and easy. Never bothered with the “cooling off” and reheating part. I just mashed them hot and then served. The almonds really add something special. I microwaved 2 sweet potatoes (on the smallish side) for 3.5 minutes, flipped, 3.5 more minutes, flipped, then 2 more minutes, checked them, and 2 more minutes. I love that this doesn’t load them up with butter and cream, letting the sweet potato flavor really shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had a version of this at a wedding reception and went searching for the recipe. Since I had looked for it last minute, I didn't have the Ginger to add to it and my husband hates almonds. They still turned out fantastic without them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
OH MY GOSH!!!!! SOOOOOOOOOO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Not bad. I could taste the amaretto and thought it went relatively well with the sweet potato flavor. Bf didn't notice it at all. He said he'd prefer plain sweet potatoes instead of any mashed, but he's boring that way. I didnt use the microwave to bake the sweet potato but put them in the oven for about 40 min or so on 400, then peeled off the skin and mashed. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States