Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I tried this recipe when I couldn't find my standard marshmallow-topped recipe for sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving. I actually like this version better than my own! It is very easy to throw together, and the orange juice really compliments the flavor well! An added bonus that is a family tradition in my house - the little ones are given the responsiblity of putting the miniature marshmallows in PERFECT rows on top of the mashed sweet potatoes. It gives them something to do, makes them feel as if they helped prepare the Thanksgiving meal also (what smiles when you tell them what a great job they did!) and it keeps them out of your hair for at least 15-20 minutes while they are busy at the table! My six year old son loved doing it! I am 45 years old and this has been my job at Thanksgiving since I was about his age. Some family traditions never change- just the recipe gets better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I thought 1 cup of orange juice was too much. Next time I'll only add half a cup. And maybe a tablespoon or 2 of brown sugar. The orange flavor overpowered the potatoes too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Tastes as it should. Orange juice is a nice touch, and I found the 1 cup to be about the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
My husband wanted to know what the special occasion was! I used honey and brown sugar in place the white sugar. I did not have any marshmallows though. Still, it was great! I can't wait to serve this at the holidays to family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I used raw honey and brown sugar substitute instead of sugar. My husband said they were the best mashed sweet potatoes he's ever had and he had some a week ago that he loved at the Grand Lux Cafe (that's why I wanted to make some). This was my first time ever making home made mashed potatoes of any kind. I loved them. Easy and delicious. My husband thought they were better than candied yams too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was fantastic! I've never eaten sweet potatoes until I met my fiance, and I'm trying to make the things that he likes - and boy did he like these! Said they were better than his mom's! I substituted the honey and brown sugar for the white sugar. I would use less OJ next time. And be careful where your oven rack is placed...marshmallows go up in flame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Very good recipe! Texture came out smooth and the spices were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very good, i would suggest less orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I was trying to mimic a recipe from a restaurant my husband and I go to. For some reason I couldn't get them creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cicily Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I didn't care for the taste of the orange juice with the sweet potato. It was a little too mush and took away from the yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States