Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I think it would be better if you sauteed the mushrooms and onions in a bit of the bacon grease for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was great even though I had to use sour cream as I did not have any ranch dressing. I do now though, and am making it again tonight. I used the bacon fat to saute the mushrooms and onions as it seemed a shame to waste the extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe. I do not like salt, so I never use it to cook, and so I have never had very good luck with mashed potatoes, but this was delicious! The ranch gave the potatoes the best flavor, and it was so easy. Thanks for the post, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I stuffed green and red peppers with these potatoes after cooking and microwaved until peppers are tender (3-4 min.) for a different spin on potatoes. I also omitted the mushrooms for my husband. They were a hit! Great recipe. The flavor was wonderful and the consistency was perfect! My family has already asked to have them again. I think we have a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
i loved these potatoes. easy to make. i didn't use ranch dressing i used milk and i used more bacon and mushrooms than the recipe said. the result was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I was just lazy and threw the onions and mushrooms in a few minutes before the bacon was done cooking (I sliced my bacon before cooking) to save time. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. My potatoes were a little too stiff when mashed, so I added a little fat free half and half. These were perfect and a huge hit at our house. My husband has already asked for them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
These potatoes are unbelievably good!! I made them to go with 'Bratwurst, Sauerkraut and Bean Casserole' but ended up having to cook Tater Tots for Husband, because I ate both the servings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A big hit with the family! These are a nice change from plain mashed. I also added the onion and mushrooms to the bacon just before it was done. Great flavor. Maybe next time I'll try adding some grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This recipe is the best!!! I didn't mash the potatos, but I did fry them with the onions, bacon, and mushrooms before adding the dressing. I think I probably tripled the amount of dressing added. I also added plenty of black pepper. My husband said he would eat these every single night if I made them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
These were awesome! Loved them! Great twist on an old favorite. I'll definitely serve these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States